Home » Social Media » Snapchat » How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved

How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved

Did you accidentally send a message that you didn’t want to send?

If you did, you might want to delete it before the other person saves it.

However, if they happened to save the message, will you still be able to delete it from the chat?

In this article, you’ll learn how to delete messages on Snapchat that the other person saved.

By the end of the article, you should be able to know how to delete Snapchat messages, whether the person saved it or not.

Table of Contents

  1. Open your chat
  2. Long press the message and tap on “Delete”
  3. Select learn more, then tap on “Okay”
  4. Select “Delete”
  5. View your chat

1. Open your chat

Snapchat saved message

Firstly, you need to open the Snapchat app.

Then, open the chat containing the message that you want to delete.

If you happened to save the message, you can long press it and tap on “unsave” to unsave the message.

This will unsave the message on your end.

To unsave a message that you saved, long press the message and tap on “unsave”.

If the other person and you didn’t save the message, it will be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

However, as long as one person saved the message, it will not be automatically deleted from the chat.

If the other person didn’t save the message as well, the message will be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

However, if the other person happened to save the message, it will not be deleted.

As long as one person saved the message, it will not be automatically deleted from the chat.

So, the other person and you cannot save the message in order for it to be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

2. Long press the message and tap on “Delete”

Snapchat long press message

Next, you want to long press the message that you want to delete.

After you do so, you’ll be given four options you can choose from.

The four options are—Unsave in Chat, Copy, Snap Reply, and Delete.

Unsave: Unsave the message that you’ve saved.

Copy: Copy the message onto your clipboard.

Snap Reply: Quote the message and reply with a snap.

Delete: Delete the message from the chat.

If you’ve saved the message previously, you can tap on “Unsave in Chat” to unsave the message.

Again, if the other person didn’t save the message as well, it will be automatically deleted after 24 hours.

Secondly, the copy option allows you to copy the message on the clipboard.

The “Snap Reply” option will quote the chat and you can reply with a snap.

Lastly, the “Delete” option will delete the chat; which is the option that you’ll want to be using.

Tap on “Delete” and a pop-up message might appear.

3. Select learn more, then tap on “Okay”

How to delete messages on Snapchat

Thirdly, select “Okay” if you received a pop-up message.

This pop-up message will appear if you tapped on “Learn More”.

It might also appear when you’re using the “Delete” option for the first time.

Tapping on “Okay” will revert you back to the delete option.

As you can see from the image above, there are certain restrictions whenever you’re deleting a message.

When you delete a message, Snapchat will attempt to remove it from their database and the other person’s device.

However, it might not work if the other person has a poor internet connection or an old version of Snapchat.

Do note that you can only delete the messages that you’ve sent.

You cannot delete the messages that the other person sent unless they delete it themself.

4. Select “Delete”

How to delete messages on Snapchat that the other person saved

Lastly, tap on “Delete” to delete the message.

Lastly, tap on “Delete” to delete the message.

When you delete a message, the other person can see that you’ve deleted it.

When you delete a message, the other person can see that you’ve deleted it.

This can be seen from the statement in the pop-up message that says, “Friends can see that you’ve deleted something”.

So before you delete something, keep in mind that the other person will know that you’ve deleted your message.

5. View your chat

You deleted a chat Snapchat

After you deleted a message, view your chat again.

When you view your chat after deleting a message, there will be an in-chat notification that says that you’ve deleted a chat.

If you happened to delete more than one message, the notification will show how many messages you deleted.

For example, if you deleted 4 messages, the notification will say this “You deleted 4 chats”.

There will be an in-chat notification that says, “You deleted a chat”.

This notification will be visible by the other person and you.

If you deleted more than one message, the notification will show how many messages you deleted.

For example, if you deleted 4 messages, the notification will say this “You deleted 4 chats”.

FAQ

Can you delete messages on Snapchat that someone else saved?

Yes, you can delete messages on Snapchat that someone else saved.

Yes, you can delete messages on Snapchat that someone else saved.

Navigate to the chat > long press the message > delete > delete.

You can do so by long pressing your message > delete > delete.

However, you can only delete your own messages and not the other person’s.

Is there a way to unsave all messages on Snapchat?

No, there is no way to unsave all messages on Snapchat at once.

There is no way to unsave all messages on Snapchat at once.

If you want to unsave messages on Snapchat, you have to do so manually.

You can only manually unsave messages on Snapchat.

Simply view the chat, long press the message that you want to unsave, and tap on “Unsave” to unsave your message.

Does removing a friend on Snapchat delete saved messages?

No, removing a friend on Snapchat does not delete saved messages.

Removing a friend on Snapchat does not delete saved messages.

When you remove someone on Snapchat, they still can see all the saved messages by viewing the chat.

When you remove a friend on Snapchat, it does not remove them from your chat list.

Similarly, it will not remove you from the other person’s chat list.

That being said, the other person will still be able to see the saved messages.

Does blocking someone on Snapchat get rid of saved messages?

No, blocking someone on Snapchat will not get rid of saved messages.

Blocking someone on Snapchat will not get rid of saved messages. It only prevents the person from sending snaps or messages to you.

When you block someone on Snapchat, you will no longer receive snaps or messages from them.

However, the person that you’ve blocked will still have access to your chat in their chat list.

This means that they still can view all the saved messages between them and you.

Conclusion

In 2018, Snapchat released a feature where you can delete messages that you’ve sent.

This is really helpful if you’ve accidentally sent an unintended message to someone.

To recap, here’s how you can delete a message that you’ve sent on Snapchat:

  1. Long press the message.
  2. Tap on “Delete”.
  3. Tap on “Delete” again to delete the message.

Do note that deleting the message might not always work.

This is because the other person still might have the message on their chat if they have a poor internet connection or if they have an old version of Snapchat.

Either way, it’s still worth a shot if you want to get rid of the message.

Further Reading

> How to Increase Your Snapchat Score [New Step-By-Step Guide]

> How to Allow Snapchat to Access Your Camera

> Does Snapchat Notify When You Look at Someone’s Location?

Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.