Home » Social Media » Facebook » How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture

How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture

Changing your Facebook profile picture is straightforward.

But if you want to disable likes and comments on it, you need to take an additional step.

Whenever you change your profile picture, Facebook will share the update on your timeline.

When that happens, people will be able to see that you’ve changed your profile picture on their news feed.

Consequently, they will be able to like and comment on it.

This may be uncalled for because you might not want to let others know about the change.

So how can you prevent others from liking or commenting on your profile picture?

In this guide, you’ll learn how to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture in 3 easy steps.

  1. How to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture
  2. How to turn off comments on your Facebook profile picture
  3. How to turn off likes on your Facebook profile picture

How to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture

To disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture, you need to uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed” option before changing it.

If you already changed it, you need to change your post’s privacy settings from “Public” to “Only Me”.

After you’ve unchecked the “Share your update to News Feed” option, your profile picture change will not be shared on your friends’ news feed.

In other words, they won’t be able to like or comment on your profile picture as they won’t be able to see it on their feed.

Alternatively, you can update your profile picture without unchecking the “Share your update to News Feed” option.

However, you need to change its privacy settings immediately after you’ve updated it.

Even so, your friends will be able to see that you’ve changed your profile picture via their news feed.

Below is a step-by-step guide on how you can disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture by hiding it.

Step #1: Open Facebook and go to your profile

Facebook menu

Open Facebook > Menu > See your profile.

The first step is to open Facebook and log in to your account.

You can do this on the mobile app or the desktop version of Facebook.

However, in this guide, we’ll use the Facebook app.

Once you’re on Facebook, navigate to the menu on the bottom navigation bar.

On the menu, tap on the first option that says, “See your profile”.

You’ve successfully navigated to your profile.

In the next step, you’re required to add a new profile picture.

Step #2: Add a new profile picture

Change profile picture Facebook

Your profile > camera icon > choose an existing photo from your camera roll.

Once you’re on your Facebook profile, you’ll see your cover photo, profile picture, and name.

On your profile picture, tap on the small camera icon on the bottom-right of it.

After you tapped on the camera icon, a navigation drawer will open with three options.

You can either select a profile picture or video, add a frame, or create an avatar profile picture.

Tap on “Select profile picture or video” to go to your camera roll.

On your camera roll, select the picture that you want to change your profile picture to.

You’ve successfully selected a new profile picture.

The final step is to hide the change from the news feed to prevent your friends from liking or commenting on it.

Step #3: Uncheck “Share your update to News Feed”

How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture

Uncheck “Share your update to News Feed” > Save.

After you’ve selected a new profile picture from the previous step, you’ll land on the editing page.

On the editing page, you can crop the picture or add a frame.

You can also enable or disable the option to share the update on the news feed.

The “Share your update to News Feed” option is located at the bottom of the page.

If you check the box, your profile picture update will be shared on the news feed.

On the other hand, if you uncheck the box, your profile picture update will not be shared on the news feed.

Simply uncheck the box for “Share your update to News Feed” to hide the update from showing up on the news feed.

Now that the update is hidden from the news feed, your friends won’t be able to like or comment on it.

Lastly, tap “Save” to update your profile picture.

Congrats, you’ve successfully disabled likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture by hiding the update from the news feed.

However, if you’ve already changed your profile picture before hiding the update from the news feed, move on to the next section for an alternative solution.

How to turn off comments on your Facebook profile picture

Turn off comments on Facebook

To turn off comments on your Facebook profile picture, you need to change its privacy settings from “Public” to “Only Me”.

Alternatively, you can uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed” option before changing your profile picture.

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how you can do this:

  1. Go to the “updated profile picture” post.
  2. Tap on the triple-dots icon.
  3. Select “Edit Privacy” > “See all”.
  4. Select “Only me” > “Done”.

After you’ve changed the post’s privacy settings from “Public” to “Only Me”, your friends can no longer comment on it as it will be hidden from their news feed.

How to turn off likes on your Facebook profile picture

To turn off likes on your Facebook profile picture, you need to change its privacy settings from “Public” to “Only Me”.

Alternatively, you can uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed” option before changing your profile picture.

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how you can do this:

  1. Go to the “updated profile picture” post.
  2. Tap on the triple-dots icon.
  3. Select “Edit Privacy” > “See all”.
  4. Select “Only me” > “Done”.

After you’ve changed the post’s privacy settings from “Public” to “Only Me”, your friends can no longer like it as it will be hidden from their news feed.

Conclusion

Changing your Facebook profile picture is important as it shows that you’re active on the platform.

Moreover, if you use a photo that is 10 years ago, people might not recognize you.

Generally, you should try to keep your profile pictures consistent across all social media platforms.

This will make it easier for people to find and follow you.

Further Reading

What Does “Other Viewers” Mean on Facebook Story?

Why Is The “Add Friend” Button Not Showing on Facebook?

What Does Bump Mean on Facebook? And How to Use It

Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.