Are you seeing the name, “Instagram User” on Instagram?
There are a couple of places where you can see this.
The first place is in your Instagram DMs (direct messages).
If you open a chat with someone, you might not be able to see their Instagram username.
Their username will be “Instagram User” instead of their real username or name.
You can also see the name, “Instagram User” when you visit someone’s profile.
In this guide, you’ll learn what “Instagram User” means and whether you are blocked by the person.
- What Does “Instagram User” Mean?
- Does Instagram User mean that I’m blocked?
- What is Instagram User in DM?
- How do you find out who “Instagram User” is?
What Does Instagram User Mean?
Instagram User means that the person either blocked you or they deleted their Instagram account.
If the person blocked you, you won’t be able to see their Instagram username or name.
Instead, their name will become “Instagram User”.
In addition, you won’t be able to see the person’s posts.
This is done by Instagram to prevent the blocked person from knowing who blocked them.
However, if you’ve messaged the person recently, you’ll be able to tell who blocked you by looking at your messages.
If you recognize who sent you the messages, you’ll be able to identify the person even if they’ve blocked you.
If the person deleted their Instagram account, their username will also not be shown.
Does Instagram User mean blocked?
Yes, Instagram User can mean that the person has blocked you.
It can also mean that the person has deleted their Instagram account.
That said, the most common reason for seeing the name, “Instagram User” is because the person has blocked you.
When someone blocks you on Instagram, you won’t be able to message them, or find your profile, posts, or stories.
Your profile information such as your profile picture, name, and username will be hidden.
Hence, if you can’t see the person’s profile picture, name, or username, it means that you’re most likely blocked.
What is Instagram User in DM?
Instagram User in your DM (direct messages) means that the person has blocked you.
If the person blocked you, you won’t be able to see their profile picture in the chat or your direct messages.
That said, the messages that the person sent you will still be intact unless they enabled vanish mode.
In addition, you won’t be able to see their Instagram name or username.
Instead of seeing their name or username, you’ll see “Instagram User”.
This is done by Instagram to prevent you from knowing who blocked you.
However, if you recognize the messages that the person sent you, you can easily identify them.
How do you find out who “Instagram User” is?
To find out who “Instagram User” is, you need to check your direct messages.
Alternatively, you can use a third-party app to see who blocked you.
Firstly, open the chat where you see the name, “Instagram User”.
If you’ve messaged the person or the person messaged you recently, you’ll be able to easily identify them.
This is because it’s easier to remember the messages.
Check the messages and try to remember who sent them to you.
Unfortunately, if the person messaged you a long time ago, you might not be able to identify them.
This is because it’s harder to remember the person who sent you the messages.
If so, you need to use a third-party app to check who blocked you on Instagram.
There are multiple apps that have this feature on the App Store and Google Play Store.
However, seeing who blocked you on Instagram is usually a premium feature, so you might have to pay for it.
Instead of the person’s actual Instagram username or name, you might see the name, “Instagram User”.
This is puzzling for some users as it looks like Instagram is down.
This is not the case as the person most likely blocked you.
A block means that you won’t be able to see the person’s information on Instagram.
However, your messages with them will not be deleted if the person didn’t enable vanish mode.
Instagram has yet to implement a feature that deletes the entire chat with someone if you block them.
Hence, you still can identify who blocked you if you remember who sent you the messages.