Home » Social Media » Snapchat » What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

Did you recently see “Other Snapchatters” on your story views?

If you did, you might be wondering what the term means.

Many Snapchat users have seen the term “Other Snapchatters” on their story views before, and it can be quite confusing.

This is because Snapchat didn’t provide any information about the term, so you might not know what it means.

The term is nowhere to be found on the Snapchat Support website, so there’s no information there as well.

Does it mean that the person has unfriended you or Snapchat?

Or does it mean that you’re blocked?

This article will answer these couple of questions and more.

  1. What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?
  2. Why does it say “Other Snapchatters” but you’re still friends?
  3. Conclusion

What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

Other Snapchatters

“Other Snapchatters” means that you either didn’t add those users, they removed you as a friend, or they blocked you on Snapchat.

Users under “Other Snapchatters” either means that you didn’t add them, they removed you, or they blocked you.

In other words, the term means that you’re no longer friends with the user on Snapchat.

On the other hand, the viewers above “Other Snapchatters” are mutual friends.

Let’s say that you’ve added someone as a friend and they’ve added you back.

After this, you posted a story on your Snapchat story.

Then, the person viewed your story right after you’ve posted it.

Their username will be shown on your story viewers’ list.

However, if they decided to remove you as a friend or block you, their person will be shown under “Other Snapchatters”.

If the person added you back again, they will be shown as a normal viewer.

Let’s get into each of the reasons in detail.

1. Snapchatters you haven’t added

If you didn’t add someone back on Snapchat and they viewed your story, they will be shown under “Other Snapchatters”.

On the other hand, people you added (and that added you as well) will be shown in the normal story viewers.

When you see “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers, one of the reasons is because you didn’t add those users back.

A user tweeted “What does “other snap chatters” mean on story views” tagging Snapchat Support back in 2017.

Snapchat explicitly stated that “Other Snapchatters” are Snapchatters who you haven’t added.

I proved this theory by using a secondary account to add my main account.

Then, I posted a story on my main account and watched it using my secondary account.

When I checked the story viewers of my main account, my secondary account was listed under “Other Snapchatters”.

Hence, this confirms the theory of “Other Snapchatters” being users that you haven’t added back on Snapchat.

2. They removed you

Other Snapchatters on Snapchat means removed or deleted

Secondly, the users under “Other Snapchatters” might have removed you as a friend on Snapchat.

If someone removed you as a friend on Snapchat, they will be shown under “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers.

When someone removed you as a friend on Snapchat, they will no longer be listed under your normal story viewers.

Let’s say that you’ve added someone on Snapchat and they added you back.

If the person has watched your story, they will be on your normal story viewers.

However, if they removed you as a friend, they will be moved under “Other Snapchatters”.

You can confirm that they’ve removed you as a friend by looking at your chat list.

If you see a gray arrow or a “Pending” status under the person’s name on your chat list, that means that the person removed you as a friend.

As such, if they happened to remove you as a friend, they will be shown under “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers.

3. You’re blocked

Other Snapchatters on Snapchat means blocked

Lastly, the users under “Other Snapchatters” might be because they’ve blocked you on Snapchat.

If someone watches your story on Snapchat then blocks you, they will be shown under “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers.

If someone blocked you on Snapchat, they won’t be listed under your normal story viewers anymore.

Instead, they will be shown under “Other Snapchatters”.

Like the first section, I’ve tested this theory out as well.

Here’s how the test went:

  1. I used a main account, a secondary account, and added each other as friends.
  2. A story was posted on my main account and I viewed it using my secondary account.
  3. Checking the story viewers, the secondary account was listed as a normal story viewer.
  4. After this, using the secondary account, I blocked the main account.
  5. Lastly, I proceeded to check the story viewers on my main account, and the secondary account was listed under “Other Snapchatters”.

This test proves that when someone blocked you on Snapchat, they will be listed under “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers.

However, the person must have viewed your story prior to blocking you.

Otherwise, they won’t be able to see it.

Hence, the person might have blocked you on Snapchat because they might have disliked the story that you’ve recently posted on Snapchat.

Why does it say “Other Snapchatters” but you’re still friends?

If it says “Other Snapchatters” but you’re still friends, the person might have blocked you on Snapchat.

If Snapchat says “Other Snapchatters” but you think that you’re still friends with the person, then they might have blocked you on Snapchat.

Otherwise, they might have just removed you as a friend but you’re unaware of it.

There are three ways to confirm whether someone blocked you on Snapchat.

Firstly, the person will be shown under “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewers.

If you post a story in the future, they won’t be listed in your story viewers anymore.

This is because a person who has blocked you on Snapchat will hide your profile from them.

That being said, they won’t be able to see your stories anymore.

Secondly, if you see a gray arrow under a user in your chat list, that means that the person has probably removed you as a friend.

Lastly, a “Pending” status means that the person has removed you as a friend as well.

A gray arrow and a “Pending” status can also mean that the person has blocked you on Snapchat.

Conclusion

There are tons of terms, symbols, and emojis on Snapchat.

If you’re new to Snapchat, you may not know a lot of things in the app.

One of those things is the term, “Other Snapchatters” which you may have seen once in your story viewers before.

To recap, the term can mean one of three things:

  1. You didn’t add the person back on Snapchat.
  2. The person either removed you as a friend or haven’t added you back.
  3. You’re blocked.

If you didn’t add the person back on Snapchat, you should do so in order for them to be moved to your normal story viewers.

On the other hand, if the person removed you as a friend or haven’t added you back on Snapchat, you have to wait for them to add you.

Further Reading

What Does It Mean When It Says Pending on Snapchat?

What Does The Green Arrow Mean on Snapchat?

How to Fix “Couldn’t load image. Tap to retry” on Instagram

Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.