Home » Social Media » TikTok » How to Turn On or Off “Save Video” on TikTok

How to Turn On or Off “Save Video” on TikTok

Do you want to turn on or off the “Save Video” option on TikTok?

The “Save Video” option allows you to enable or disable people from downloading your TikTok videos.

When you tap on the option, the video will be saved in your camera roll.

The “Save Video” option can be found when you tap on the share icon on a video.

However, some videos do not have the option because the person has turned it off.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to turn on or off the “Save Video” option on TikTok.

  1. How to turn on “Save Video” on TikTok
  2. How to turn off “Save Video” on TikTok

How to turn on “Save Video” on TikTok

To turn on “Save Video” on TikTok, navigate to “Privacy” and turn on the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting.

After you turned the setting on, anyone will be able to download your TikTok videos.

They can download any of your videos by tapping on the share icon followed by “Save Video”.

The “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting is similar to the “Save Video” option.

If you turn the option on, anyone will be able to save your TikTok videos to their camera roll.

On the other hand, if you turned it off, people will not be able to download your TikTok videos.

Below is a step-by-step guide on how you can do this.

1. Navigate to “Privacy”

Tiktok privacy

Go to your TikTok profile > three dots > Privacy.

The first step is to navigate to your privacy settings.

Firstly, open TikTok on your mobile device.

Then, go to your TikTok profile by tapping on the “Me” icon on the bottom navigation bar.

Once you’re on your profile, tap on the three dots on the right corner of it.

Tapping on the three dots will open the settings and privacy page.

On the settings and privacy page, you’ll see multiple headers including “Account”, “Content & Activity”, “Cache & Cellular Data”, and more.

Under the “Account” header, you’ll see a “Privacy” tab.

Tap on “Privacy” to go to your privacy settings.

Proceed to the next couple of steps to learn how to navigate to the option where you can enable or disable the downloading of your TikTok videos.

2. Tap on “Allow your videos to be downloaded”

How to allow your videos to be downloaded on TikTok

Safety > Allow your videos to be downloaded.

After you’ve tapped on “Privacy”, you’ll land on the privacy page.

On the privacy page, you’ll be able to change your account type, personalization, and safety settings.

Scroll down the page until you reach the “Safety” header.

Right under “Safety”, you’ll see an “All your videos to be downloaded” setting.

This setting allows you to enable or disable

Tap on the “All your videos to be downloaded” setting.

Proceed to the last step to learn how to turn on the setting.

3. Select the “On” option

How to turn on "Save Video" on TikTok

Select the “On” option > tap on the back icon thrice to go back to your profile.

Lastly, after you’ve tapped on the “All your videos to be downloaded” setting, you’ll be able to turn it on.

There are two options on the setting page including “On” and “Off”.

Select “On” to turn on the “Save Video” option on TikTok.

Then, tap on the back icon thrice to go back to your profile.

After you’ve turned the setting on, anyone will be able to download your videos.

They can do so by navigating to your video > share icon > save video.

You’ve successfully learned how to turn on the “Save Video” option on TikTok!

If you want to prevent people from saving your videos, proceed to the next section to find out how.

How to turn off “Save Video” on TikTok

To turn off “Save Video” on TikTok, navigate to “Privacy” and turn off the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting.

After you turned the setting off, no one will be able to download your TikTok videos.

However, people will still be able to save your videos by recording them using a screen recorder.

Hence, there is no way to prevent someone from saving your videos once you’ve uploaded them on TikTok.

Disabling the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” option just makes it harder for people to save your videos as they have to record them manually.

That being said, if you want to reduce the number of saves to your video, you can turn off the “Save Video” option on TikTok.

Below is a step-by-step guide on how you can do this.

1. Navigate to “Privacy”

TikTok settings and privacy

Go to your TikTok profile > three dots > Privacy.

To begin with, open TikTok on your mobile device.

Then, navigate to your TikTok profile by tapping on the “Me” icon on the bottom navigation bar.

Once you’re on your profile, tap on the three dots on the top right of it.

This will open the settings & privacy page.

Tap on “Privacy” to go to your privacy settings.

Move on to the next couple of steps to learn how to prevent your TikTok videos to be downloaded.

2. Tap on “Allow your videos to be downloaded”

How to disable download videos on TikTok

Safety > Allow your videos to be downloaded.

After you’ve tapped on “Privacy”, you’ll land on the privacy settings page.

Scroll down the page until you find the “Safety” header.

Directly under the safety header, you’ll see multiple safety settings like the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting.

Tap on “Allow your videos to be downloaded” to change the setting for it.

Move on to the final step to learn how to turn off the “Save Video” option on TikTok.

3. Select the “Off” option

How to turn off "Save Video" on TikTok

Select the “Off” option > tap on the back icon thrice to go back to your profile.

On the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting, you’ll see an “On” and an “Off” option.

The “On” option allows anyone to save/download your TikTok videos.

On the other hand, the “Off” option prevents people from saving/downloading your TikTok videos.

Select the “Off” option to prevent people from saving your videos on TikTok.

Then, tap on the back button thrice to go back to your profile.

To test whether the option is disabled, tap on the share icon on your video and see if the “Save Video” option is blurred out.

If the option is blurred out, it means that you’ve disabled it.

You’ve successfully learned how to turn off the “Save Video” option on TikTok!

Conclusion

TikTok makes it easy for anyone to download a video from the “Save Video” option.

By default, the option is turned on, which means that anyone will be able to download your TikTok videos.

TikTok allows you to control that option via the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting.

If you want to prevent your videos from getting downloaded, you can disable that setting.

However, if you don’t mind people downloading your videos, you can leave the “Allow your videos to be downloaded” setting on.

Further Reading

How to Make High Quality TikTok Videos

How to Fix TikTok Messages Not Working

What Does #xyzbca Mean on TikTok?

Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.