Home » Messaging » WhatsApp » How to Know Who Viewed Your WhatsApp Profile or Status

How to Know Who Viewed Your WhatsApp Profile or Status

WhatsApp allows you to see who read your messages.

The blue tick indicates that the person has read your message.

On the other hand, the gray tick indicates that the person has not read your message.

However, you and the person need to enable “Read Receipts”.

WhatsApp also allows you to add a status where your contacts can view it.

A WhatsApp status is similar to an Instagram story where it disappears after 24 hours.

However, will you be able to see who viewed it?

In this guide, you’ll learn how to see or know who viewed your WhatsApp profile or status.

Can someone tell if you view their WhatsApp profile?

No, someone cannot tell if you view their WhatsApp profile.

However, if you viewed someone’s status, they will be able to know.

A WhatsApp status is similar to an Instagram story.

It is not to be confused with your “About” message on your profile.

When you view someone’s WhatsApp status, they can see it by tapping on the “eye” icon.

However, there isn’t a feature where you can see if someone viewed your WhatsApp profile.

You’ll only know of this if you and the person are chatting with each other.

Can someone tell if you view their WhatsApp status?

Yes, someone can tell if you view their WhatsApp status.

When you post a WhatsApp status, you can see who viewed it by tapping on the “eye” icon.

Similarly, the person will be able to know that you viewed their WhatsApp status if they tap on the “eye” icon on their story.

A WhatsApp status is similar to an Instagram story.

When someone posts a status, it will be visible for 24 hours.

After 24 hours, the status will automatically disappear.

This also means that you can only see who viewed your WhatsApp status for 24 hours.

How to know who viewed your WhatsApp profile

How to know who viewed your WhatsApp profile

To know who viewed your WhatsApp profile, you need to post a status and see who viewed it.

Unfortunately, WhatsApp does not have a feature that allows you to see who viewed your profile.

Hence, a workaround is to post a status, wait for some time, and see who viewed it.

The people who viewed your status visited your WhatsApp profile.

When you post a status, it will be visible on the “Status” page.

By default, only your contacts will be able to see your WhatsApp status.

You can modify this by going to your WhatsApp settings.

In your WhatsApp settings, tap on Account > Privacy > Status.

You can change who can view your status to “My Contacts”, “My Contacts Except”, or “Only Share With…”.

That said, changes to your privacy settings won’t affect the status updates that you’ve already posted.

How to know who viewed your WhatsApp status

How to know who viewed your WhatsApp status

To know who viewed your WhatsApp status, you need to view your status.

After you’ve viewed your status, tap on the “eye” icon to see your viewers.

The number next to the “eye” icon indicates how many people viewed your WhatsApp status.

If you tap on the “eye” icon, you’ll see a list of people who viewed your WhatsApp status.

Keep in mind that you can only see your viewers within 24 hours.

After 24 hours, your status will disappear along with the list of people who viewed it.

If you don’t want some of your contacts to view your status, you can block them from viewing it.

You can do this by navigating to Settings > Account > Privacy > Status.

Now, you’ll be able to change the privacy of your status to certain contacts.

If you want to block one or two people, you can select the “My Contacts Except…” option.

From there, you can block certain contacts from viewing your status.

On the other hand, if you want to block multiple people, you can select the “Only Share With…” option.

From there, you can allow certain contacts to view your status.

Changing your privacy setting will affect your future status.

Conclusion

Keep in mind that statuses on WhatsApp will only last for 24 hours.

In other words, your status will disappear after 24 hours.

On the other hand, your “About” message will not disappear.

The “About” message used to be called “Status” until WhatsApp decided to change it.

Now, your WhatsApp status is similar to an Instagram story where you can share a photo or a video for 24 hours.

If you need help, you can visit the WhatsApp Help Center.

Further reading

How to Freeze “Last Seen” on WhatsApp in 4 Easy Steps

How to Set YouTube Video As WhatsApp Status

7 Best Instagram Story Viewers

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with 8+ years of experience in Social Media Marketing and 4+ years of experience as an active investor in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.

Lim has been quoted and referenced by major publications and media companies like WikiHow, Fast Company, HuffPost, Vice, New York Post, The Conversation, and many others. One of his articles about the gig economy was quoted by Joe Rogan who hosts The Joe Rogan Experience (arguably the most popular podcast in the world), in the This Past Weekend podcast by Theo Von.

In his free time, Lim plays multiple games like Tower of Fantasy, League of Legends, Counter-Strike, Hearthstone, RuneScape, and many others. He creates guides, walkthroughs, solutions, and more on games that he plays to help other players with their progression.