Home » How-To » Gaming » How to Change Servers in Genshin Impact

How to Change Servers in Genshin Impact

To play Genshin Impact with your friends, you need to be on the same server as them.

Otherwise, you won’t be able to find them.

Let’s say that you’re are playing on the America server while your friend is playing on the Asia server.

If that’s the case, you won’t be able to play co-op with them.

To resolve this, either you or your friend needs to change servers.

If you’re playing on the America server, you need to change to the server that your friend is playing on.

However, you might be wondering if your progress will be lost.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to change servers in Genshin Impact and whether you’ll lose progress if you change servers.

You’ll also learn if servers matter in Genshin Impact.

Whether you’re playing Genshin Impact on PC, Xbox, PlayStation, iOS, Android, or Nintendo Switch, you can follow this guide to change servers.

How to change servers in Genshin Impact

To change servers in Genshin Impact, you must first launch the game.

Once you’ve launched Genshin Impact, click on the current server that you’re on and select the server that you want to change to.

For example, if the current server that you’re on is “Europe”, click on “Europe”.

Then, you’ll be able to choose from four different servers.

The four different servers are America, Europe, Asia, and TW/HK/MO.

After you’ve selected the server that you want to change to, a pop-up message will appear.

The pop-up message says that data will not be shared across servers.

This means that you’ll have to restart Genshin Impact when you change to a new server.

However, your progress in the old server will be saved.

Hence, you don’t have to worry about changing servers because you won’t lose your old server’s progress.

Here is how to change servers in Genshin Impact:

1. Launch Genshin Impact

Launch Genshin Impact

The first step to changing servers in Genshin Impact is to launch the game.

Firstly, open the Genshin Impact application on your device.

This can be the PC, Xbox, PlayStation, iOS, Android, or Nintendo Switch version of the game.

Once you’ve opened the Genshin Impact application, click on “Launch” to launch the game.

2. Click on your current server

Genshin Impact server

After you’ve launched Genshin Impact, you’ll see the server that you’re currently on.

For example, if you’re currently on the “Europe” server, you’ll see a “Europe” button.

Similarly, if you’re currently on the “America” server, you’ll see an “America” button.

Click on the server button to proceed to change your server on Genshin Impact.

3. Select the server that you want to change to

How to Change Servers in Genshin Impact

After you’ve clicked on the server button, a pop-up will appear.

The pop-up has a list of servers that you can change to.

This includes America, Europe, Asia, and TW/HK/MO.

Now, select the server that you want to change to.

If you want to play co-op with your friend, you need to be on the same server as them.

For example, if your friend is playing on the America server, select “America” to change to the America server.

4. Confirm the change

Do you lose progress if you change servers in Genshin impact?

After you’ve selected the server that you want to change to, a confirmation pop-up will appear.

The pop-up says that data will not be shared across servers.

This means that you have to restart your progress if you change to a new server.

However, your progress will be saved in the old server (when you switch back to it).

Hence, you don’t have to worry about losing everything because you can switch back to the old server at any time.

When you do, all of your progress will be back.

To change servers, click on “Confirm”.

You’ve successfully learned how to change servers on Genshin Impact!

Do you lose progress if you change servers in Genshin Impact?

You will lose your progress in the new server but not the old server in Genshin Impact.

This is because data cannot be transferred across servers.

For example, if you changed to a new server in Genshin Impact, you’ll have to restart your progress.

However, your progress will be saved in the old server (when you switch back to it).

If you’ve played Blizzard games like Hearthstone before, you should know that your progress cannot be transferred between servers.

Does server matter in Genshin Impact?

Yes, servers matter in Genshin Impact if you’re looking to play co-op mode with your friend.

If you want to play with your friend, you need to be on the same server as them.

Let’s say that you’re playing on the America server but your friend is on the Asia server.

To play co-op with your friend, you need to change your server to Asia.

Alternatively, your friend can change their server to America.

Conclusion

It’s highly recommended that you play on a server that is close to where you reside in.

For example, if you live in Singapore, you should choose the “Asia” server.

On the other hand, if you live in America, you should choose the “America” server.

This will ensure that you have a lower ping.

Keep in mind that changing servers will not erase your progress on the old server.

However, your progress will be restarted on the new server.

This means that if you switch back to the old server, you’ll have everything back.

If you want to play co-op with your friends, you need to be on the same server as them.

If your friend has made very little progress in Genshin Impact, you should ask them to change to your server.

Further reading

300+ Good, Aesthetic, and Cool Usernames for Genshin Impact

How to Recover Your Genshin Impact Account

How to Change or Reset Your Genshin Impact Password

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.