Home » How-To » Gaming » How to Delete Your Genshin Impact Account

How to Delete Your Genshin Impact Account

If you no longer play Genshin Impact, you can delete it.

In early 2021, there isn’t an option to delete your Genshin Impact account.

As a result, you need to contact Genshin Impact support.

You can do this by clicking on the “Contact Us” link on the Genshin Impact official site.

However, in late 2021, Genshin Impact introduced the “Delete account” feature.

Hence, you’ll be able to delete your account in your profile settings.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete your Genshin Impact account, if you can delete it, and how to reset it.

How to delete your Genshin Impact account

To delete your Genshin Impact account, you need to go to your profile settings.

Once you’re in your profile settings, click on “Account Security Settings”, and click on “Delete Account”.

Lastly, follow the on-screen instructions to delete your Genshin Impact account.

After you’ve requested the deletion of your account, it’ll be permanently deleted after 30 days.

During the 30 days, you can reactivate it on the miHoYo website.

If you didn’t reactivate it after 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted and you won’t be able to retrieve it.

Here are 9 steps to delete your Genshin Impact account:

1. Go to the Genshin Impact website and click on “Log In”

Genshin Impact log in

The first step is to go to the official Genshin Impact website.

You can visit the official Genshin Impact website by clicking on this link: https://genshin.mihoyo.com/en/home.

Once you’re on the website, you’ll see a “Log In” icon on the header of it.

Click on “Log In” to proceed to log in to your Genshin Impact account.

2. Log in to your Genshin Impact account

After you’ve clicked on “Log In”, the login pop-up will open.

Now, you need to log in to your Genshin Impact account.

The pop-up contains a couple of fields.

This includes “Username/Email” and “Password”.

Enter your Genshin Impact username/email and password.

Then, click on “Log In” to log in to your Genshin Impact account.

3. Go to your account settings

Genshin Impact account settings

After you’ve logged into your Genshin Impact account, you’ll see your email address on the header of the site.

Firstly, click on your email address on the header of the site.

This will open a chat box containing a couple of links.

This includes “Account” and “Log Out”.

Click on “Account” to go to your account settings.

4. Log in to your Genshin Impact account

miHoYo account log in

After you’ve clicked on “Account”, you’ll land on the official miHoYo account website.

You can also click on this link to go to the official miHoYo account website: https://account.mihoyo.com/.

Once you’re on the site, you need to log in to your Genshin Impact account again.

Firstly, enter your Genshin Impact username or email address in the “Username/Email” field.

Next, enter your password in the “Password” field.

Lastly, click on “Log In” to log in to your Genshin Impact account.

5. Go to “Account Security Settings” and click on “Delete Account”

How to delete your Genshin Impact account

After you’ve logged into your Genshin Impact account, you’ll land on your account settings.

On the left sidebar, you’ll see 3 options.

This includes “Account Information”, “Account Security Settings”, and “Login Devices”.

Click on “Account Security Settings” to go to your account security settings.

At the bottom of your account security settings, you’ll see a link to delete your Genshin Impact account.

Click on “Delete Account” to proceed to delete your account.

6. Click on “Next”

Delete Genshin Impact account

After you’ve clicked on “Delete Account”, a pop-up message will appear.

The pop-up message states that your account will be deleted once the process is complete.

It also states that your miHoYo account including your personal information and data will be deleted permanently.

Click on “Next” to proceed to the next step.

7. Complete the security verification

miHoYo security verification

After you’ve clicked on “Next”, you need to complete the security verification.

It’s recommended that you use the “Email Verification” method.

Click on “Send code” to send the verification code to your email.

Next, check your email for the verification code and copy it.

Lastly, paste it into the “Verification code” field and click on “Next” to proceed to the next step.

8. Confirm the deletion of your account

After you’ve completed the security verification, another pop-up message will appear.

The message says that you have completed the security verification process.

It also states that it takes 30 days for your account to be deleted.

Before 30 days, you can still reactive your account by logging in to it.

However, if you did not reactivate your account, it will be automatically deleted and you won’t be able to recover it.

Click on “Ok” to request the deletion of your Genshin Impact account.

9. Log out of your account

After you’ve clicked on “Ok”, another pop-up message will appear.

The message states that you’ve successfully submitted an account deletion request.

It also states that unless you reactivate your account, you won’t be able to use it.

Click on “Log Out” to log out of your Genshin Impact account or wait for 15 seconds.

Now, you need to wait for 30 days for your Genshin Impact account to be automatically deleted!

Can you delete your Genshin Impact account?

Yes, you can delete your Genshin Impact account.

You can do so by navigating to your account security settings and clicking on “Delete account”.

Then, follow the on-screen instructions to delete your account.

As of late 2021, you don’t have to contact Genshin Impact support to request the deletion of your account.

Instead, you can delete your account in your account security settings.

How can I reset my Genshin Impact account?

You can reset your Genshin Impact account by creating a new account or switching to a new server.

Firstly, if you create a new Genshin Impact account, your progress will be reset.

Similarly, if you switch to a new server, your progress will be reset as well.

This is because data cannot be transferred across servers.

Conclusion

Before late 2021, users were required to contact Genshin Impact support to request the deletion of their accounts.

However, in late 2021, Genshin Impact introduced the “Delete Account” feature.

As a result, users are able to delete their accounts in their account security settings.

If you have any questions regarding an account deletion, you can contact Genshin Impact by emailing them at genshin_cs@mihoyo.com.

Further reading

175+ Funny Genshin Impact Signatures

How to Find Your Genshin Impact Username

How to Change Genshin Impact Language

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.