Home » Social Media » Instagram » How to Delete Instagram Messages From Both Sides

How to Delete Instagram Messages From Both Sides

Are you wondering whether you can delete Instagram DMs (direct messages) from both sides?

The answer is yes—you can delete Instagram direct messages from both sides, and the solution is very simple.

You might have sent something by accident or inappropriate and you want to delete it from both sides.

This guide teaches you exactly how you can do this.

Table of Contents

  1. How to Delete Instagram Messages From Both Sides
  2. What happens if I send and unsend a message?
  3. When you delete a DM on Instagram does it delete for the other person?
  4. Can the other person delete Instagram messages?
  5. Does blocking on Instagram delete messages?
  6. Does deleting Instagram app delete messages?
  7. How long do Instagram direct messages last?
  8. Conclusion

How to Delete Instagram Messages From Both Sides

Delete Instagram messages from both sides

To delete Instagram messages from both sides, hold down your message and tap on “Unsend”.

Unsending a message will delete it from both sides, so the person you sent it to won’t be able to see it anymore.

In other words, the person and you will not be able to see the message anymore.

To delete a Instagram message from both sides, hold down your message and tap on “Unsend”.

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how you can delete Instagram message from both sides:

  1. Open your direct message.
  2. Hold down your message for 3 seconds.
  3. Tap on “Unsend” to delete the message from both sides.

Do note that the “Unsend” feature only works if you’re trying to delete your own message. If you’re looking to delete the other person’s message, you cannot do so.

The only way you can delete the person’s message is to go to your message list, swipe left, and tap on “Delete”.

This will delete your conversation with another person on your end.

However, the person that you messaged will still have the messages as it will not be deleted on their end.

Read on for more frequently asked questions about Instagram direct messages that you might be interested in knowing.

What happens if I send and unsend a message?

So, what happens if I send and then immediately unsend a message on Instagram? Will the person still see it on their notifications?

If you send and unsend a message, the person will be able to see the notification on their screen for a second.

Once you unsend the message, the notification will automatically be deleted.

If you send and unsend a message to someone, both the message and the message notification will be deleted.

The person will be notified for a split-second if you send and immediately unsend a message if they are using the app.

This means that the person will know that you sent them a direct message via their notifications as long as you didn’t unsend it.

Once you tapped on “Unsend”, the notification will be deleted and they can no longer find it.

That being said, the person will only be able to know that you’ve sent them a direct message if they are using the app while you sent and unsent the message.

They will also be able to know that you’ve sent them a direct message if they turned on their notifications.

However, if they are not using Instagram at the time that you sent and unsent the direct message, then they will not be able to know that you unsent the message.

When you delete a DM on Instagram does it delete for the other person?

When you delete a DM on Instagram does it delete for the other person?

The answer is yes, whenever you delete a DM (direct message) on Instagram, the message will also be deleted for the other person.

Delete = Unsend. If you happen to unsend a DM on Instagram, the message is deleted for the other person as well.

The “Unsend” feature is really helpful if you accidentally sent something inappropriate to someone.

Can the other person delete Instagram messages?

The other person can only delete their own Instagram messages.

The other person can delete their own Instagram messages. However, the other person cannot delete the messages that you’ve sent.

This means that they cannot delete the messages that you sent to them unless they deleted the whole conversation.

However, even if they deleted the whole conversation, you will be still able to see the messages that you’ve sent them.

Does blocking on Instagram delete messages?

Instagram block

Another common question is, “Does blocking on Instagram delete messages?”.

The answer is no, blocking someone on Instagram does not automatically delete their messages or your messages.

Blocking someone on Instagram does not delete messages.

If you want to delete the messages, you’ll have to either unsend your messages or delete the delete the entire conversation via your message list.

However, blocking someone on Instagram prevents them from sending you a direct message.

This means that a person can no longer send you a direct message once you’ve blocked them. Nevertheless, they can still view your previous conversation with them.

Does deleting Instagram app delete messages?

Does deleting Instagram app delete messages?

The answer is no, deleting the Instagram app will not delete your direct messages with people.

Your messages will not be deleted if you delete Instagram.

Deleting the Instagram app will delete its cache and data, but it will not delete your Instagram account.

All your likes, comments, direct messages, your followers, and whoever you’re following will not be deleted.

Once you install Instagram again and log in to your account, all of your messages will still be there.

How long do Instagram direct messages last?

Instagram photo message

Instagram direct messages will last forever unless you deliberately set a photo/video to “View Once” or “Allow Replay”.

Instagram direct messages will last forever and will not be automatically deleted.

On the other hand, Instagram photo/video messages will disappear after one or two view(s), or kept in chat depending on its settings.

Unlike Snapchat, whenever you send a direct message, the message will not be automatically deleted.

However, if you’re sending a photo or a video, you can set it to “View Once” or “Allow Replay” which means that the person can only view the photo/video once or twice respectively.

Conclusion

In this article, you’ve learn how to delete Instagram messages from both sides, and common questions about Instagram direct messages.

To recap, here are the learning points:

  • Hold down your direct message and tap on “Unsend” to delete your Instagram message from both sides.
  • If you send and unsend a message to someone, both the message and the message notification will be deleted.
  • The person will be notified for a split-second if you send and immediately unsend a message if they are using the app.
  • Delete = Unsend. If you happen to unsend a DM on Instagram, the message is deleted for the other person as well.
  • The other person can delete their own Instagram messages.
  • Blocking someone on Instagram does not delete messages.
  • Your messages will not be deleted if you delete Instagram.
  • Instagram direct messages will last forever and will not be automatically deleted.

Further Reading

> ? Why Can’t I Upload Video to Instagram Stories? (How to Fix)

> How to Fix Suspicious Login Attempt on Instagram

> 9 Ways to Get More Views on IGTV (That Actually Work)

Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.