Home » Social Media » Facebook » How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides

How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides

Did you accidentally send a message to someone that you didn’t intend to?

Sending messages to the wrong person or the wrong group is a common mistake.

If you’ve been using messaging apps for a while, you’re bound to make this mistake at least once.

But don’t fret, most messaging apps in the present allows you to delete your message from both sides.

However, some apps like WhatsApp only allows you to delete messages from both sides within a certain time frame.

But does Messenger have a time limit?

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger from both sides in 4 easy steps (with pictures).

  1. How to delete messages on Messenger from both sides
  2. When you delete a conversation on Messenger does it delete for the other person?
  3. How do I permanently delete Messenger messages?
  4. Can you tell if someone deleted your conversation on Messenger?

How to delete messages on Messenger from both sides

To delete messages on Messenger from both sides, hold the message, select “More…”, select “Remove”, and tap on “Unsend”.

After you’ve tapped on “Unsend”, the message will be deleted from your side of the chat and the receiver’s side of the chat.

The “Unsend” option means to delete the messages from both sides.

In other words, the receiver won’t be able to view the message that you sent them.

However, if the receiver has enabled push notifications for Messenger, there’s a chance that they might have seen your message for a brief moment.

When you send a message to someone on Messenger who enabled their notifications, the message will show up as a push notification on their screen.

It’ll only disappear after you hit the “Unsend” button.

That being said, even if you’ve deleted the message from both sides, there’s a slim chance that they might have seen it.

Regardless, below is a step-by-step guide on how you can do this.

Step #1: Tap and hold the message

Facebook messenger message

Open Facebook Messenger > navigate to the message that you want to delete.

Firstly, open the Facebook Messenger app on your device.

Once you’re on the app, navigate to the message that you want to delete from both sides.

On the chat, tap and hold the message for three seconds.

For example, if the message that you want to delete is “Hi”, tap and hold the “Hi” chat bubble for three seconds.

This is similar to deleting a message on WhatsApp and most messaging apps.

In the next step, you’ll learn how to find the “Remove” option.

Step #2: Select “More…”

Facebook messenger more option

On the bottom of your screen, select the “More…” option.

In this step, you’ll need to navigate to the “Remove” option.

After you’ve tapping and holding the message for three seconds, three options will appear on the screen.

The options are “Reply”, “Forward”, and “More…” on the bottom of your screen.

“Reply” is for quoting and replying to a specific message.

On the other hand, “Forward” is for forwarding a message to someone else.

Lastly, “More…” will open up other options.

As the “Remove option” is not there, the option that you want to select is the “More…” option.

Tap on “More…” to open up the other options.

In the next step, you’ll learn how to find the “Unsend” option in order to delete messages on Messenger from both sides.

Step #3: Select “Remove”

Facebook remove message

Select the “Remove” option.

After you’ve tapped on the “More…” option, two other options will be opened—Remove and Copy.

Tapping on “Remove” will open a couple of deleting options—one to delete the current message from your end, and the other to delete it from both sides.

On the other hand, the “Copy” option allows you to copy the message to your clipboard.

The option that you want to be using is the “Remove” option.

Tap on “Remove” to open up the deleting options.

In the last step, you’ll learn the option that you need to use to delete the Messenger message from both sides.

Step #4: Tap on “Unsend”.

How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides

Tap on “Unsend” to delete the message on Facebook Messenger from both sides.

After you’ve tapped on the “Remove” option (from the previous step), you’ll be given a couple of options—Unsend or Remove for You.

The “Unsend” options will delete the message from both sides.

On the other hand, the “Remove for You” option will only delete the message on your end.

Hence, you do not want to use the “Remove for You” option.

If you accidentally tapped on it, you won’t be able to retrieve the message on your end, and the receiver will still have your message.

Instead, tap on “Unsend” to delete the message on Messenger from both sides.

Congrats, you’ve successfully learned how to delete messages on Messenger on both sides!

When you delete a conversation on Messenger does it delete for the other person?

When you delete a conversation on Messenger, it does not delete it for the other person.

Your messages will only be deleted for the other person if you unsent all of them individually.

Whenever you send a message on Messenger, you’re given the option to unsend it or delete it for yourself.

As long as you didn’t unsend the message, the other person will still be able to see your conversation between them.

How do I permanently delete Messenger messages?

To permanently delete Messenger messages, you need to use the “Unsend” option.

The “Unsend” option will delete your message from both sides.

In other words, unsending a message on Messenger will permanently delete your message from your side and the receiver’s side.

There isn’t another way for it.

Can you tell if someone deleted your conversation on Messenger?

No, you won’t be able to tell if someone deleted your conversation on Messenger.

You will only be able to tell if someone deleted your conversation if they unsent their messages.

Whenever you delete a conversation on Messenger, the other person will not be notified of it.

In addition, the conversation will not be deleted for the other person.

Conclusion

Sending messages to the wrong person can be embarrassing.

Naturally, the best way to avoid sending messages to the wrong person is by double-checking the receiver’s name.

However, if you already sent the message, then the best course of action is to unsend it immediately after.

Concurrently, hope that the person did not catch a glimpse of the message that you sent them.

Further Reading

Does Snapchat Notify When You Look at Someone’s Location?

How to Reopen Snaps on Snapchat (4 Easy Steps)

How to Start a Streak on Snapchat

Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with 8+ years of experience in Social Media Marketing and 4+ years of experience as an active investor in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.