Home » Social Media » Snapchat » Does Snapchat Notify When You Screen Record?

Does Snapchat Notify When You Screen Record?

Do you want to screen record a chat or a story on Snapchat?

If you do, you might be wondering whether Snapchat notifies the other person when you screen record.

As you may have already knew, Snapchat will notify the other person if you take a screenshot of the chat or their story.

But does Snapchat notify a screen recording?

In this article, you’ll learn whether the other person knows if you screen record the chat or their story.

Table of Contents

  1. Does Snapchat notify when you screen record?
  2. Does Snapchat notify when you screen record a story?
  3. Does Snapchat notify when you screen record a chat?
  4. How to screen record on Snapchat without them knowing
  5. Conclusion

Does Snapchat notify when you screen record?

Does Snapchat notify when you screen record?

Yes, Snapchat will notify the other person when you screen record their chat or story.

When you screen record someone’s story on Snapchat, they will be able to tell as there will be a double green arrow icon beside your name in their viewer list.

On the other hand, when you screen record a chat, the person will be notified that you did so.

When you screen record someone’s story on Snapchat, there will be a double green arrow icon beside your name in their viewer’s list.

On the other hand, if you were to screen record a chat, there will be an in-chat notification (similar to a screenshot notification).

The notification will be an in-chat notification, similar to a screenshot notification.

You can see how the screenshot and screen recording notifications look like in the picture above.

So, if you’re hoping to screen record a chat or someone’s story, keep in mind that the person will be aware of it.

It’s hard to get away with saving someone chat or story on Snapchat because of its notification features.

If you’re looking to screen record someone’s story or chat without them knowing, read on to find out how.

But first, let’s find out what happens when you screen record someone’s story on Snapchat.

Does Snapchat notify when you screen record a story?

Snapchat green arrow

Yes, Snapchat will notify the other person when you screen record their story.

A green double arrow icon will be shown beside your name when you screenshot someone’s story.

Similarly, the green double arrow icon will be shown beside your name when you screen record someone’s story.

When you screen record someone’s story, there will be a green double arrow beside your username when they check their viewer’s list.

That’s when the person knows that you’ve took a screen shot or a screen recording of their story.

However, the person won’t be able to tell whether you (specifically) screenshotted their story or screen recorded it.

This is because the green double arrow is used for both a screenshot and a screen recording.

When you screenshot someone’s story, the green arrow will also be shown beside your name in their viewer’s list.

In other words, there isn’t a specific icon that differentiates a screenshot against a screen recording.

In a nutshell, Snapchat will notify the person with a green double arrow beside your name in their viewer’s list if you screenshot or screen record their story.

So the next time you want to screen record someone’s story, keep in mind that they will be aware of it.

Does Snapchat notify when you screen record a chat?

Snapchat screen record notification

Yes, Snapchat will notify the person when you screen record your chat with them.

If you were to screen record a chat, Snapchat will notify the person that you’ve done so.

Snapchat will be able to detect a screenshot as well as a screen recording of a chat.

When you take a screen recording of a chat, Snapchat will be able to detect it.

An in-chat notification will be sent in chat if you were to take a screen recording of it.

If you were to take a screenshot of a chat, there will be an in-chat notification that says, “You took a screenshot of chat”.

On the other hand, if you were to take a screen recording of a chat, the in-chat notification, “You screen recorded chat” will be sent in the chat.

Unlike screenshotting or screen recording someone’s story, the person will be able to tell that the specific action you took if you do so in chat.

So, if you thought that you could get away with screen recording a chat—think again, because Snapchat will be a able to detect a screen recording as well.

How to screen record on Snapchat without them knowing

How to screen record on Snapchat without them knowing

To screen record on Snapchat without the other person knowing, you can turn airplane mode on.

To screen record on Snapchat without the other person knowing, turn airplane mode on your iPhone or Android device.

Snapchat won’t be able to detect and notify the person if you’ve screen recorded their chat or story if you turned airplane mode on.

Airplane mode will disable your internet connection, so Snapchat will not be able to detect that you’ve screen recorded someone’s chat or story.

It also automatically disables your Wi-Fi connection, and it won’t connect to any new ones unless you manually do so.

While you’re in the Snapchat app, turn airplane on.

Here’s how you can turn on airplane mode on an iPhone:

  1. Go to Snapchat.
  2. Swipe up from the bottom of the screen.
  3. Tap on the “airplane” icon to turn airplane mode on.

Here’s how you can turn on airplane mode on an Android device:

  1. Go to Snapchat.
  2. Swipe down from the top of the screen.
  3. Tap on the “airplane” icon to turn airplane mode on.

After airplane mode is turned on, you won’t have an internet connection.

As such, Snapchat won’t be able to notify someone if you screenshot or screen recorded their chat or story.

Conclusion

In this article, you’ve learned whether Snapchat notifies when you screen record.

Here are some of the key takeaways in the article:

  • Snapchat will notify if you screen record a chat from an in-chat notification.
  • A green double arrow will be shown beside your name when you screenshot or screen record someone’s story on Snapchat.
  • To screen record on Snapchat without the other person knowing, turn airplane mode on.

So, the next time you want to screen record on Snapchat, think again, because the person will be able to know that you’ve done so.

The only way to prevent the person from knowing is to turn on airplane mode on your device.

Further Reading

> Does Snapchat Notify When You Look at Someone’s Location?

> How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved

> How to Fix “This sound isn’t licensed for commercial use” on TikTok

Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.