Are you getting a “Post Unavailable” error in your direct messages on Instagram?
If so, you won’t be able to view the shared post.
The error message happens when you share an Instagram post with someone (and vice versa).
This can be done by tapping on the paper plane icon at the bottom of a post.
After you’ve tapped on the paper plane icon, select the user(s), and tap on “Send”.
In this guide, you’ll learn why Instagram says “This post is unavailable” in your DM and how to fix it.
- Why does Instagram say this post is unavailable?
- What does Post Unavailable mean on Instagram?
- How to fix Post Unavailable on Instagram
Why does Instagram say this post is unavailable?
Instagram says that this post is unavailable because the post is deleted.
Otherwise, the post is archived by the original poster.
If the post belongs to a private account and you’re not following them, it will also be unavailable.
Another reason is that the post might be taken down by Instagram due to a community guideline violation.
What does Post Unavailable mean on Instagram?
Post Unavailable on Instagram means that the post has either been deleted or archived.
It can also mean that the original poster’s account is private or the post was taken down by Instagram.
Otherwise, the person either deactivated their account, blocked you, or added an age restriction.
1. The post has been deleted
If the post is deleted, you and the sharer won’t be able to see it.
Unless you or the sharer took a screenshot of the post, you can no longer see it.
Deleting an Instagram post will be moved to “Recently deleted”.
Posts in “Recently deleted” will be permanently deleted after 30 days.
2. The post was archived
Instagram allows its users to archive their posts.
When a post is archived, it will be hidden from the user’s profile.
As a result, the post will be unavailable if it’s shared in a conversation.
The only way you can see it again is if the person unarchives the post.
3. It’s a private account
If the post belongs to a private account and you’re not following them, you won’t be able to see it.
The reason why the sharer is able to share the post is that they are currently following the account.
If that’s the case, you need to ask the sharer to take a screenshot of the post and send it to you.
This will prevent the need for you to follow the account to see the post.
4. The post was taken down
Instagram has a list of community guidelines that everyone needs to follow.
This includes no illegal content, hate speech, violence, and more.
If a post violated a community guideline, it will be taken down by Instagram.
Hence, if a post is unavailable, it might be taken down.
5. Deactivated, blocked, or age-restricted
If an account is deactivated or deleted, all of its posts will be deleted.
If you’re blocked, you won’t be able to view the user’s posts.
An age-restricted post will prevent you from viewing it unless you’re 18 and above.
To verify your age, go to your account settings, select “Personal information”, and add your date of birth.
How to fix Post Unavailable on Instagram
To fix Post Unavailable on Instagram, ask the sharer to take a screenshot of the post and send it to you.
This works if the post belongs to a private account and you can’t see it.
If both you and the sharer cannot see the post, it means that it’s either archived, deleted, or taken down.
If that’s the case, you won’t be able to see the post unless the sharer took a screenshot of it prior to its unavailability.
How to Fix “You can’t message this account unless they follow you” on Instagram
How to Fix “You’ve reached the message request limit” on Instagram