Home » Social Media » Snapchat » How to Save Snapchat Photos to Your Gallery

How to Save Snapchat Photos to Your Gallery

Saving Snapchat photos can go to three places.

It can either go to your “Memories”, “Memories & Camera Roll”, or “Camera Roll”.

These saving options can be modified by you.

If you’ve tried saving a snap that you’ve posted on Snapchat (e.g. a photo), it might not land in your gallery.

This is because you haven’t modified the “Save Button” yet.

Until you do, saving photos and videos on Snapchat will not go to your gallery.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to save Snapchat photos to your gallery, whether you can save Snapchat photos to your phone, and more.

  1. How to save Snapchat photos to your gallery
  2. Can you save Snapchat photos to your phone?
  3. How do I save Snapchats automatically to my camera roll?

How to save Snapchat photos to your gallery

To save Snapchat photos to your gallery, you need to modify the “Save Button” in your settings from “Memories” to “Memories & Camera Roll”.

After you’ve changed the “Save Button” to “Memories & Camera Roll”, photos and videos that you save on Snapchat will go to your memories as well as your gallery.

By default, snaps that you save on Snapchat will be saved to your memories.

It will not be saved to your camera roll unless you enabled it.

Snapchat memories allow you to see all of your saved snaps in one place.

You can do so by opening the Snapchat camera and swiping up.

Hence, if you want to save your photos and video snaps to your phone’s gallery, you need to modify the “Save Button” in your settings.

Below is a step-by-step guide on how you can do this.

1. Tap on your Bitmoji

Snapchat Bitmoji

Firstly, open Snapchat and log in to your account if you haven’t already.

Then, tap on the menu icon on the bottom navigation bar.

After you’ve tapped on the menu icon, you’ll land on the “Discover” page.

On the “Discover” page, tap on your Bitmoji on the top navigation bar.

2. Go to your settings

Snapchat settings

After you’ve tapped on your Bitmoji, your Snapchat profile will open.

On your Snapchat profile, you’ll see your name, username, and more.

On the top-right corner of your Snapchat profile, you’ll see a gear icon.

Tap on the gear icon to go to your Snapchat settings.

3. Tap on “Memories”

Snapchat memories

After you’ve tapped on the gear icon, you’ll land on the settings page.

On the settings page, you’ll see multiple settings including your name, username, birthday, mobile number, email, and more.

Scroll down the page until you see the “Memories” setting.

Tap on the “Memories” setting to go to the “Memories” page.

4. Tap on “Save Button”

Snapchat save button

After you’ve tapped on “Memories”, you’ll land on the memories page.

“Memories” is a collection of snaps and stories that you’ve saved on Snapchat.

It contains multiple headers such as “Storage”, “Save Destinations”, and “Features”.

Under “Save Destinations”, you’ll see a “Save Button” setting.

Tap on “Save Button” to modify its settings.

5. Select “Memories & Camera Roll”

Snapchat memories and camera roll

After you’ve tapped on “Save Button”, you’ll land on the “Save Button” page.

The “Save Button” setting allows you to change the saving destination of your photo or video snaps.

There are three saving options including “Memories”, “Memories & Camera Roll”, and “Camera Roll”.

By default, the “Memories” option will be selected.

This means that the snaps that you save on Snapchat will only be saved in your memories.

To save your future photo and video snaps, you need to either select the “Memories & Camera Roll” or the “Camera Roll” option.

Both options will save your photo and video snaps to your phone’s gallery.

The “Memories & Camera Roll” option is highly recommended as it allows your snaps to be saved in both your memories and your camera roll.

Hence, you’ll be able to see your past snaps in two places.

Select the “Memories & Camera Roll” option.

6. Go to your photo, tap on the arrow & tap on the save icon

How to save Snapchat photos to your gallery

The final step is to save the photo snap to your gallery.

Firstly, navigate to the snap that you want to save.

If you’ve already posted the snap, navigate to it by tapping on your Bitmoji.

Then, tap on “My Story” to view your story.

Once you’re on your story, tap on the arrow icon.

After you’ve tapped on the arrow icon, you’ll see the number of story views and saves.

You’ll also see a trash icon and a save icon.

Tap on the save icon to save the photo or video snap to your gallery.

Congrats, you’ve successfully learned how to save Snapchat photos to your gallery!

Can you save Snapchat photos to your phone?

Yes, you can save Snapchat photos to your phone.

However, you need to modify the “Save Button” in your settings from “Memories” to “Memories & Camera Roll” first.

By default, photos that you save on Snapchat will be saved in your Snapchat memories.

Hence, you need to change the “Save Button” setting to “Memories & Camera Roll” so that photos that you save on Snapchat will be saved to your Snapchat memories as well as your phone’s gallery.

How do I save Snapchats automatically to my camera roll?

Here’s how you can save Snapchats automatically to your camera roll:

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji.
  2. Tap on the gear icon to go to your settings.
  3. Tap on “Memories”.
  4. Under “Save Destinations”, tap on “Auto-Save My Story Snaps”.
  5. Select “Auto-Save to Memories”.

By selecting “Auto-Save to Memories”, snaps that you post on Snapchat will be automatically saved to your Snapchat memories.

Conclusion

Saving Snapchat photos to your gallery is important because you might not be able to retrieve them if you don’t.

By default, snaps that you save on Snapchat will be saved to your Snapchat memories.

Snaps in your Snapchat memories can be exported by tapping on the three dots followed by “Export Snap”.

After you’ve tapped on “Export Snap”, you can save the snap to your camera roll/gallery by tapping on “Save Image”.

If you don’t want to go to your Snapchat memories to save your snaps, you need to change the “Save Button” setting to “Memories & Camera Roll” (as mentioned in the guide above).

Further Reading

How to Unlock Your Locked Snapchat Account

How to View a Snapchat Profile

Can You Have 2 Snapchat Accounts? And How to Add Them

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.