Home » Social Media » TikTok » How to Save a TikTok Draft Video in Gallery

How to Save a TikTok Draft Video in Gallery

Saving a TikTok video as a draft is easy, but can you save it to your gallery?

The variety of filters, editing features, songs, and more makes TikTok the prime choice for editing videos.

In fact, some people use TikTok to edit their videos, later removing the watermark from it.

However, saving a TikTok video to your gallery/camera roll is a bit complicated.

This is because there isn’t an option to save the video directly from the editing screen.

Hence, a lot of TikTok users have no idea how to save their draft(s) in their phone gallery after editing it.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to save a TikTok draft video in your phone gallery in 3 simple steps.

  1. How to save TikTok draft video in gallery
  2. Can I save a TikTok draft?
  3. How do I continue editing a TikTok draft?

How to save TikTok draft video in gallery

To save a TikTok draft video in your gallery, you need to first navigate to it on your profile.

Then, you need to private the video and make sure to enable “Save to device” before posting it.

An alternative is to record the video using your phone’s screen recorder.

When you save a TikTok draft, you can find it under your profile.

To edit the draft, you just have to tap on it, then tap on its caption.

However, there isn’t an option for you to save the video directly to your phone gallery.

In order to save the video, you’ll have to post it.

However, posting the draft means that the video will be shown publicly to your followers and other users’ “For You” page.

If you don’t want your video to be publicly visible, you’ll have to private it.

Fortunately, TikTok allows its users to change the privacy settings of their videos.

Below is a step-by-step guide on how you can private your draft video on TikTok and save it to your phone gallery.

Step 1: Navigate to the draft video

TikTok drafts

Open TikTok > Your Profile > Drafts.

To begin with, open TikTok on your mobile device.

Then, you need to navigate to the draft video that you’ve saved on TikTok.

If you haven’t recorded a video, make sure to record it first.

Then, tap on the “Drafts” button to save the video to your drafts.

To find your drafts, tap on the “Me” icon on the bottom navigation bar.

This will bring you to your profile where you’ll be able to see your videos.

On your videos, you’ll see a rectangle that says “Drafts”.

Tap on the “Drafts” rectangle to see your draft(s).

Proceed to the next step to learn how to edit the draft so that you can save it.

Step 2: Tap on the draft to edit it

Edit TikTok draft

Navigate to the draft that you want to save > Tap on the draft to edit it.

After you’ve tapped on your drafts, you’ll be able to see a list of your drafts.

Your drafts will be sorted based on recently edited.

This means that if you’ve recently edited a draft, it will be shown at the top of the list.

To edit the draft, tap on the caption of the video.

If you haven’t added a caption to the video, you’ll see the phrase “Add a caption”.

You can also tap on the video to edit it.

On the screen, you’ll also notice that there’s a “Select” option on the top navigation bar.

Do not tap on the “Select” option as it is only for deleting videos.

Instead, tap on either the video or the caption of the video.

Proceed to the last step to find out how to save the draft video to your phone gallery/camera roll.

Step 3: Private the video and enable “Save to device”

 Save TikTok Draft Video in Gallery

Who can watch this video > Private > “X” icon > Enable “Save to device” > Post.

Once you’re on the editing screen, you’ll see a field where you can add a caption to the video.

You’ll also see several other options below it.

TikTok does not have an option for you to save the draft to your gallery.

In order to save it to your gallery, you need to post it first.

However, if you were to post the video without changing its privacy settings, everyone will be able to see it.

So, before you post the video, you need to change its privacy settings from public to private.

Firstly, tap on the tab that says “Who can watch this video”.

After you’ve tapped on the tab, there’ll be three options that you can choose from including “Everyone”, “Friends” and “Private”.

“Everyone” means that everyone will be able to see your video.

“Friends” only allows your followers that you follow back to see your video.

“Private” only allows you to see the video.

Select the “Private” option to private your video, then tap on the “X” icon.

In order for the video to be saved to your gallery, you need to enable “Save to device”.

Enable “Save to device” to allow TikTok to save the video to your device after you post it.

If you don’t enable it, the video will not be automatically saved to your gallery, and you’ll have to manually save it.

Lastly, tap on “Post” to post the video privately.

After you’ve posted the video, it will be saved to your gallery.

As your video is private, no one will be able to see it except for you.

Congrats, you’ve successfully saved a TikTok draft video in your gallery!

Can I save a TikTok draft?

Yes, however, you can only save a TikTok draft if you post it.

If you don’t post the draft, you won’t be able to save it in your gallery/camera roll.

Posting a draft video on TikTok allows everyone to see it.

So, you need to make sure that you changed its privacy setting from “Everyone” to “Private” before you post it.

Make sure to enable the “Save to device” option as well.

How do I continue editing a TikTok draft?

Here’s how you can continue editing a TikTok draft:

  1. Go to your profile on TikTok by tapping on the “Me” icon.
  2. Once you’re on your profile, you’ll be able to find your drafts by tapping on “Drafts”.
  3. Tap on the video or the caption of it.
  4. Tap on the back icon to continue editing it.

On the editing screen, you can also tap on the back icon again to continue shooting it.

Lastly, tapping on the “X” icon will quit editing the draft.

Conclusion

TikTok’s wide-range of editing features enables its users to be extra creative with their videos.

In fact, some people use the app to edit their videos and save them to their phone gallery after.

Currently, you can only save a TikTok video after posting it.

Before doing so, you need to make sure to private the video if you don’t want anyone seeing it.

Then you can enable the “Save to device” option to save it to your gallery.

If you want to avoid posting it, you can screen record the draft instead on your device.

Further Reading

101 TikTok Fairy Comments to Copy and Paste

How to Switch to a Personal Account on TikTok

How to Repost Videos on TikTok (Without Watermark)

Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.