Home » Social Media » Facebook » How to Cancel Sent Friend Requests on Facebook

How to Cancel Sent Friend Requests on Facebook

Did you accidentally send a friend request to someone on Facebook?

Or are you looking for your Facebook friend request list?

Either way, you might want to cancel your sent friend requests.

However, finding your friend request list on Facebook is difficult.

This is because you need to access it from a link.

The link will direct you to the “Sent requests” page where you can see a list of friend requests that you’ve sent.

This includes the ones that you’ve sent in the past.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to cancel sent friend requests on Facebook.

How to cancel sent friend requests on Facebook

To cancel sent friend requests on Facebook, you need to open the Facebook app and search for “Sent requests”.

Next, tap on the link to open a list of your sent requests and tap on “Cancel” below each of them.

By tapping on “Cancel”, the sent friend request will be canceled.

As a result, the person that you’ve sent the friend request to will not be able to see your request anymore.

The “Sent requests” page is a hidden feature on Facebook.

Hence, you won’t be able to easily access it on the Facebook app.

The only way to access it is to search for “Sent requests” and tap on the link that shows up.

Here are 4 steps to cancel sent friend requests on Facebook.

  1. Open the Facebook app and tap on the search icon
  2. Search for “Sent requests”
  3. Tap on the link
  4. Cancel your sent requests

1. Open the Facebook app and tap on the search icon

Facebook app search

Firstly, you need to open the Facebook app.

You can also use the desktop version of Facebook for this.

In this guide, we’ll use the Facebook app instead.

After you’ve opened the Facebook app, log in to your account if you haven’t already.

On the Facebook app, you’ll see a search icon on the top navigation bar.

Tap on the search icon to start searching on the app.

2. Search for “Sent requests”

Facebook sent requests

After you’ve tapped on the search icon on the top navigation bar, the search page will open.

On the search page, you’ll be able to search for anything on Facebook.

This includes features, people, groups, and more.

To see your sent friend requests, you need to find the link to open the “Sent requests” page.

To do so, you need to search for “Sent requests” on the search bar.

This will bring up “sent requests” as a search result.

Tap on “sent requests” to search for your Facebook sent requests.

3. Tap on the link

Friend request list on Facebook

Link to cancel sent friend requests on Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/friends/center/requests/outgoing.

After you’ve searched for “Sent requests”, you’ll see a “Sent Friend Requests” group.

If you don’t see it, search for “Sent Friend Requests” instead.

On the group, you’ll see a post containing a link.

The link will lead you to your outgoing sent friend request list.

Tap on the link on the post to see your sent friend requests.

If the link isn’t there, you can click on this link to see your friend requests instead: https://m.facebook.com/friends/center/requests/outgoing.

This works on both the desktop version of Facebook and the Facebook mobile app.

4. Cancel your sent requests

Cancel sent friend requests on Facebook

Link to cancel sent friend requests on Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/friends/center/requests/outgoing.

After you’ve tapped on the link, you’ll land on the “Sent requests” page.

On the page, you’ll see a list of friend requests that you’ve sent on Facebook.

This includes the ones that you’ve sent many months or years ago.

Simply scroll down the list to find the first friend request that you’ve sent on Facebook.

These requests have been neither accepted nor rejected by the people that you’ve sent to.

Now, you’ll be able to cancel all of your sent friend requests on Facebook.

To do so, tap on “Cancel” below each of your sent friend requests.

You can also choose to cancel a few of them.

When you cancel a friend request, the person will no longer see your friend request on their Facebook account.

You’ve successfully learned how to cancel all of your sent friend requests on Facebook!

Conclusion

Canceling a sent friend request on Facebook is easy if you remember who you sent it to.

To do so, navigate to the person that you’ve sent the friend request to and tap on “Cancel Request”.

However, if you want to cancel a friend request that you’ve sent many years ago, you might have forgotten the person that you’ve sent the request to.

As a result, you won’t be able to find the person’s profile.

Hence, you need to visit the “Sent requests” page for this.

Once more, here’s the link to the “Sent requests” page: https://m.facebook.com/friends/center/requests/outgoing.

Further reading

How to Fix “You cannot use Facebook because your linked Instagram account is disabled”

How to Fix “We Suspended Your Account” on Facebook

Why Is The “Add Friend” Button Not Showing on Facebook?

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.