Home » Social Media » TikTok » What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

Did you recently see a “Clear Cache” function on TikTok?

If you did, you might be wondering what the function does.

If you already knew what clearing cache is, you might have other questions in mind.

Does clearing cache delete your drafts on TikTok?

Or does clearing cache deletes your liked videos?

Before you clear your cache, it’s best to know what the function actually does.

That way, you won’t have any regrets after using it.

In this article, you’ll learn what “Clear Cache” means on TikTok, what it does, and other frequently asked questions.

  1. What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?
  2. How to clear cache on TikTok
  3. Does clearing cache on TikTok delete drafts?
  4. Does clearing cache on TikTok delete liked videos?
  5. If I clear cache on TikTok will it delete my videos?

What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

Clear cache on TikTok

“Clear Cache” on TikTok means removing insignificant data in the app which will free up storage space on your device.

The details of your profile and the videos that you’ve watched on TikTok are stored as cached data so that the app loads faster the next time you’re using it.

If you want to free up some storage space on your device, you can clear the cache on TikTok.

The number beside the “Clear Cache” tab is the size of the cache.

For example, if the number shows “100 M”, it means that the size of the cache is 100 MB (megabytes).

So if you were to clear the cache that says “100 M”, it will free up 100 MB on your device.

Fundamentally, the more videos you watch on TikTok, the larger the cache.

When you clear cache on TikTok, the data of videos that you’ve watched before will be deleted.

You may be logged out of the app as well, so you need to log in to it again.

Cached data are not important, so you don’t have to worry about clearing them.

The only drawback is that the app will perform a bit slower the first time you open it after clearing its cache.

Even so, you won’t be able to tell the difference because it’s very minimal.

Regardless, any videos that you watch on TikTok will be cached.

So, the cache size will grow if you use the app again.

If the storage space on your device is nearly at its limit, you have to consistently clear your cache to free some of it.

However, if the cache size is small and you have sufficient storage space on your device, there’s really no need to clear it.

How to clear cache on TikTok

How to clear cache on TikTok

You can clear cache on TikTok within the app itself or from your device settings.

How to clear cache on TikTok: Open TikTok > profile > triple-dots icon > clear cache.

Here’s how you can clear cache in the TikTok app:

  1. Open TikTok and go to your profile.
  2. Tap on the “triple-dots” icon on the right corner of your screen.
  3. Scroll down to “Cache and Cellular Data”.
  4. Under “Cache and Cellular Data”, tap on “Clear Cache”.

Once you tap on “Clear Cache”, there won’t be a pop-up message to confirm if you want to clear the cache.

Instead, the cache will be automatically cleared.

So, if you accidentally cleared your cache on TikTok, don’t worry, because many users have done the same.

Clearing cache will not delete anything important, so there’s nothing to worry about.

It’ll just free up some storage space on your device.

Alternatively, you can clear cache from your device settings if you’re using an Android device.

You can do so by going to your settings > apps > TikTok > clear cache.

If you’re using an iPhone, delete the app, and reinstalling it will clear its cache.

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete drafts?

No, clearing cache on TikTok does not delete your drafts.

It will only delete other insignificant data such as the details of videos that you’ve watched.

Clearing the cache on TikTok will not delete your drafts. It will only delete insignificant data (e.g. details of videos that you’ve watched).

That being said, you don’t have to worry about clearing the cache because nothing important will get deleted.

I ran a test on this to find out whether clearing cache will delete drafts.

Here is the exact process I took:

  1. To begin with, I took a recording of a 15-second long video.
  2. Secondly, I saved the video as a draft.
  3. The draft is now listed in my profile.
  4. Next, I cleared the app’s cache from its settings.
  5. Finally, I visited my profile and the draft is still there.

This test proves that clearing cache on TikTok will not delete your drafts.

Conclusively, your drafts are safe from deletion.

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete liked videos?

No, clearing cache on TikTok does not delete your liked videos.

Your videos, drafts, and liked videos will not be deleted when you clear the cache on TikTok.

Your liked videos will not be deleted if you cleared the cache on TikTok.

I ran a test on this to find out whether clearing cache will delete liked videos.

Here is the exact process I took:

  1. Firstly, I liked a few videos on the “For You” page (FYP) on TikTok.
  2. Next, I checked my liked videos and the videos that I’ve just liked are all there.
  3. After that, I cleared the app’s cache from its settings.
  4. Lastly, I checked my liked videos again, and all of them are still there.

This test proves that deleting the cache on TikTok will not delete your liked videos.

That being said, you don’t have to worry about clearing the cache as it will not delete anything important.

If I clear cache on TikTok will it delete my videos?

No, your videos will not be deleted if you clear the cache on TikTok.

Your videos will only be deleted if you manually deleted them from your profile or if it violates TikTok’s guidelines.

Other than these reasons, they will not be deleted.

Clearing cache will not delete your videos on TikTok—it only deletes insignificant data to free up your storage space.

I ran a test on this to find out whether clearing cache will delete videos.

Here is the exact process I took:

  1. I recorded a couple of videos and posted them on the app.
  2. The videos are now listed on my profile.
  3. Then, I proceeded to the settings and cleared the app’s cache.
  4. Lastly, I went back to my profile and the videos are still there.

This test proves that your videos will not get deleted if you delete the cache on TikTok.

Conclusion

Clearing cache on TikTok is important as it helps to free up some storage space on your device and help fix minor issues within the app.

In summary, clearing the cache on TikTok will free up storage space on your device. It can also help fix minor issues that you’re encountering in the app.

If you’re looking to change your FYP, clearing TikTok the cache is the first step that you need to take.

That being said, if your storage space is about to exceed its limit, you can clear the cache on TikTok via the app’s settings.

Additionally, you can clear the cache on other apps (e.g. Instagram, Facebook) as well.

This will free up some space on your device which can be used to download a low storage app.

At the end of the day, clearing the cache on an app is just one of many ways to free up storage space on your device.

Further Reading

What Does #xyzbca Mean on TikTok?

How to Turn on Post Notifications on TikTok

How to Change Your “For You” Page (FYP) on TikTok

Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain. Feel free to follow him on Instagram.

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.