Home » Finance » Coinbase » How to Delete Your Coinbase Account

How to Delete Your Coinbase Account

Are you looking to delete your Coinbase account?

Maybe you no longer want to use Coinbase to store your cryptocurrency.

Or maybe you want to transfer your cryptocurrency holdings to another wallet.

But before you delete your Coinbase account, you need to know that both Coinbase and Coinbase Pro share most of your account’s settings.

Hence, if you delete your Coinbase account, your Coinbase Pro account will also be deleted.

If you haven’t made a Coinbase account yet, get $10 USD in free Bitcoin by using this referral link: https://www.coinbase.com/join/lim_di1.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete your Coinbase account.

How to delete your Coinbase account

To delete your Coinbase account, you need to navigate to the “Activity” page.

Once you’re on the “Activity” page, scroll down and click on “Close Account” to delete your account.

After you’ve clicked on “Close Account”, you are required to enter your account’s password for security purposes.

Then, click on “Close Account” again to confirm the deletion of your account.

However, you cannot delete your Coinbase account if you have a remaining balance in any of your wallets.

Before you can delete your account, you need to have a zero balance.

To do so, you need to transfer your funds and cryptocurrencies to another wallet or user.

Then, you’ll have access to deleting your Coinbase account.

Here’s how you can delete your Coinbase account:

  1. Log in to Coinbase & click on the menu
  2. Click on “Settings”
  3. Click on the dropdown arrow & click on “Activity”
  4. Scroll down & click on “Close Account”
  5. Enter your password & click on “Close Account”

1. Log in to Coinbase & click on the menu

Coinbase menu

Firstly, you need to go to the Coinbase website.

You can use a desktop or a mobile device for this.

You won’t be able to use the Coinbase mobile app as it does not have a feature to delete your account there.

However, keep in mind that the screenshots in this guide are taken on a mobile device.

Hence, if you’re using Coinbase on a desktop, the user interface will be a little different.

Once you’re on the website, click on the menu icon, then log in to your account.

Once you’re logged in, you’ll land on your dashboard.

Next, click on the menu icon on the top navigation bar again.

If you’re using Coinbase on a desktop, click on your profile picture instead.

2. Click on “Settings”

Coinbase settings

After you’ve clicked on the menu icon, a navigation menu will open.

On the navigation menu, you’ll see multiple options including “Home”, “Portfolio”, “Prices”, and more.

Scroll down to the bottom of the menu.

At the bottom of the menu, you’ll see other options including “Settings”, “Reports”, “Help”, and “Sign out”.

The settings page is where you need to navigate to.

Click on “Settings” to go to the settings page.

3. Click on the dropdown arrow & click on “Activity”

Coinbase activity

After you’ve clicked on “Settings”, you’ll land on the settings page.

On the settings page, you’ll land on the “Profile” tab by default.

If you’re using Coinbase on a mobile, tap on the dropdown arrow on the profile tab.

After you’ve tapped on the dropdown arrow, a navigation menu will open.

Tap on “Activity” to go to the activity page.

If you’re using Coinbase on a desktop, simply click on the “Activity” tab to go to the activity page.

4. Scroll down & click on “Close Account”

Coinbase close account

After you’ve clicked on the “Activity” tab, you’ll land on the activity page.

On the activity page, you’ll see all of your active sessions.

Your active sessions are categorized by “Mobile Applications”, “Web Sessions”, “Confirmed Devices”, and “Account Activity”.

If you’re using Coinbase on a mobile device, this page might not be responsive.

However, you can zoom in on the page to see its details.

You then need to scroll down to the bottom of the page.

At the bottom of a page, you’ll see a “Close Account” header.

Under the header, you’ll see a “Close Account” button.

Click on “Close Account” to proceed to the next step to delete your Coinbase account.

5. Enter your password & click on “Close Account”

How to delete your Coinbase account

After you’ve clicked on “Close Account”, a popup message will appear.

The popup message is a confirmation that you want to close your Coinbase account.

Before you close your account, make sure to withdraw all of your funds first.

If there are still funds in your account, you won’t be able to close it.

Once all of your funds are withdrawn, you will be able to delete your account.

Then, you need to enter your password to continue.

You need to enter your password for security purposes.

Lastly, click on “Close Account” to close your account.

After you’ve clicked on “Close Account”, your Coinbase account will be permanently deleted.

Conclusion

Deleting your Coinbase account is not recommended.

If you detected suspicious activity in your account, it’s best to disable it first.

You can contact Coinbase for assistance in disabling your account.

They have a support number that you can call if you detect suspicious activity in your account.

Disabling your account is temporary, and you’ll be able to reactivate it back later.

On the other hand, deleting your Coinbase account is a permanent and irreversible process.

Hence, you should always consider disabling your account instead of deleting it.

Further Reading

How to Change or Reset Your Coinbase Password

3 Ways to Contact Coinbase

How to Delete Your Binance Account

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.