Home » Social Media » TikTok » How to Delete Drafts on TikTok (3 Easy Steps)

How to Delete Drafts on TikTok (3 Easy Steps)

Did you recently post a draft on TikTok and you want to delete it?

Deleting drafts on TikTok can be quite difficult because the delete button is out of plain sight.

If you only posted a single draft, you might want to get rid of it from your profile.

Otherwise, there will be a distracting “Drafts” post in your posts.

However, if you have multiple videos in your drafts, you might want to think twice before deleting it.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete drafts on TikTok in 3 steps, and other frequently asked questions.

How to Delete Drafts on TikTok

To delete drafts on TikTok, go to your profile, tap on “Drafts”, tap on “select”, select the drafts that you want to delete, then tap on “Delete”.

Alternatively, you can delete the TikTok app and reinstall it.

If you decide to delete TikTok, your drafts will be deleted as well.

Hence, if you have a lot of videos in your drafts and you want a quick way to delete all of them, you can delete TikTok from your device.

To delete TikTok, tap and hold the app for a couple of seconds, and delete/uninstall it.

After you deleted TikTok, reinstall it from the App Store/Google Play Store.

Then log in to your TikTok account and your drafts will be deleted from your profile.

However, if you just want to delete one or a few of your drafts, do not delete the app.

Otherwise, the drafts that you want to keep will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to restore them even if you contacted TikTok support.

Here’s how to delete drafts on TikTok:

Step #1: Go to your drafts

TikTok drafts

Open TikTok > Profile > Drafts.

Firstly, open the TikTok app on your device.

Once you’re on the app, tap on the “Me” icon on the bottom navigation bar.

The “Me” icon is TikTok’s way of indicating your profile.

After you tapped on the “Me” icon, you’ll see your TikTok profile along with all of your posts.

If you’ve saved drafts in the past, they will be located here.

Your drafts are located in the first post of your profile.

On your profile, tap on the “Drafts” post.

If you don’t see the “Drafts” post, that means that you didn’t save any drafts before.

Congrats, you’ve found your TikTok drafts!

In the second step, you’ll learn how to select the drafts that you want to delete from your profile.

Step #2: Tap on “Select”

TikTok edit drafts

Tap on “select” on the top-right corner of your screen.

After you’ve tapped on “Drafts”, you’ll see a list of all of the drafts that you’ve saved on TikTok.

On the drafts page, you can either edit or delete your drafts.

You can edit your drafts by tapping on the draft.

You can also delete your drafts by selecting one or more of them for deletion.

Since this is a guide on how you can delete your drafts on TikTok, you don’t need to edit them.

Also, you won’t be able to delete your drafts on the editing page, so don’t tap on your drafts.

In order for the delete button to appear, you need to select the draft(s) that you want to delete.

Otherwise, the delete button will not be visible.

To begin with, tap on “Select” on the top-right corner of your screen.

Step #3: Select the drafts that you want to delete & tap on “Delete”

How to delete drafts on TikTok

Select the draft(s) that you want to delete, then tap on “Delete” to delete them.

After you’ve tapped on “Select” on the top-right corner of your screen, you’ll be able to select your drafts.

Select the drafts that you want to delete by tapping on them.

You can select more than one draft if you want to delete multiple drafts.

Once you’ve selected a draft, a white tick with a red background will appear on the left of it.

That’s when you’ll know that it’s selected for deletion.

After you’re done selecting the drafts that you want to delete, there’ll be a delete button on the bottom of your screen.

The number beside the delete button indicates how many drafts you’ve selected for deletion.

For example, if you’ve selected one draft, you’ll see “Delete (1)”.

On the other hand, if you’ve selected three drafts, you’ll see “Delete (3)”.

Make sure that you look at the number beside the delete button to confirm the number of drafts that you’re looking to delete.

After selecting the drafts that you want to delete, tap on “Delete” to delete them.

Do note that this process is irreversible!

If you accidentally deleted a draft that you didn’t want to delete, you won’t be able to recover it.

Do your drafts delete if you delete TikTok?

Yes, your drafts will delete if you delete TikTok.

On the editing page, you’ll see a message that says that uninstalling TikTok will discard all of your drafts.

You can access that page by going to your drafts on the “Me” tab.

The message confirms that deleting TikTok will also delete your drafts.

If you’re looking to delete all of your drafts at once, deleting TikTok from your device will do the trick.

Once you reinstalled TikTok and logged back in, your drafts will be gone from your profile.

However, if you don’t want to delete your drafts, make sure that you don’t delete TikTok.

Otherwise, your drafts will be gone forever and you won’t be able to recover them.

Can I edit my drafts on TikTok?

Yes, you can edit your drafts on TikTok.

After you’ve posted a draft, you’ll be able to edit its caption, sound, text, and more (similar to a normal video).

To edit your drafts on TikTok, tap on the “Me” icon on the bottom navigation bar.

After you tapped on the “Me” icon, you’ll see your drafts along with your posts.

Tap on “Drafts” to see the list of your drafts.

Then, tap on the draft that you want to edit.

Once you’ve tapped on the draft, you can edit its caption, cover photo, and other settings before choosing to post it.

You can also tap on “Back” at the top of the page to add sounds effects, text, etc. to your video.

Finally, tap on “Continue shooting” to add more videos to the draft.

In a nutshell, if you save a TikTok video as a draft, you’ll still be able to edit and continue filming it similar to if you were to film a normal video.

Can people see your drafts on TikTok?

No, people will not be able to see your drafts on TikTok.

On the editing page, you’ll see a message that says, “Only you can see your drafts”.

You can access that page by going to your drafts on the “Me” tab.

The message confirms that people will not be able to see your drafts.

The drafts that you’ve saved on TikTok are only visible to you.

If someone were to visit your profile, the “Drafts” will be hidden from them.

Hence, you don’t have to worry about your TikTok drafts being leaked.

Conclusion

If you film a lot of TikTok videos, it’s likely that you’ve saved some of them as drafts.

At times, you may have way too many drafts, and it can get really cluttered unless you organize them.

In order to keep them organized, you need to go through your drafts and delete the ones that you like the least.

The best way to do so is to go through and select them manually for deletion.

However, deleting drafts on TikTok is irreversible.

This means that if you accidentally deleted a draft that you like, you will not be able to recover it.

If you’re adamant about deleting your drafts, make sure to save them in your photo gallery first.

Further Reading

101 TikTok Fairy Comments to Copy and Paste

What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

How to Unmute Someone on Instagram

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.