Home » Social Media » Snapchat » How to Delete a Sent Snap on Snapchat

How to Delete a Sent Snap on Snapchat

Did you send a snap to someone that you didn’t mean to send?

If you did, you might be looking to delete or unsend it before the person opens it.

This is because if the person already opened the snap, it might be too late to delete it.

Snapchat allows users to delete snaps after an update in 2018.

Before the update, users are not given the ability to delete snaps.

After the update, you can now delete snaps or messages from both sides.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete a sent snap on Snapchat.

You’ll also learn whether you can unsend a snap, and what to do if you sent a snap to the wrong person.

  1. How to delete a sent snap on Snapchat
  2. Can you unsend a snap?
  3. What to do if you sent a Snapchat to the wrong person?

How to delete a sent snap on Snapchat

To delete a sent snap on Snapchat, find the snap that you want to delete.

Next, tap and hold the snap, then tap on “Delete” to delete it.

After you’ve tapped on “Delete”, Snapchat will attempt to remove it from their servers.

When you delete a snap, it will be deleted from both sides.

In other words, the snap will be deleted from your chat and the other person’s chat.

It’s best to delete a snap before the other person opens it.

If the other person already opened the snap, deleting it will not make a difference.

If the snap says “Delivered” it means that the person has not opened it yet.

However, if the snap says “Opened”, it means that the person has already opened the snap.

If that’s the case, then it’s too late to delete it because the person has already seen it.

Here are 3 steps to delete a sent snap on Snapchat:

1. Find the snap that you want to delete

Snapchat delete red snap

Navigate to the snap that you want to delete, then tap and hold it.

The first step is to find the snap that you want to delete.

Firstly, open Snapchat on your mobile device.

Once Snapchat is opened, tap on the chat icon to see your chats.

On your chats, navigate to the user that you want to delete the snap from.

Once you found the user, tap on them to open your conversation with them.

If you’ve sent a snap to them, you’ll see a red arrow with a “Delivered” caption.

If the snap is displayed as “Delivered”, it means that the user has not opened it yet.

This is a good sign as the person hasn’t seen your snap, so you can still delete it before they see it.

However, if the snap is displayed as “Opened”, it means that the user has already opened it.

If the snap is opened, you can still delete it to remove it from the chat.

Proceed to the next step to learn how to delete the snap.

2. Tap and hold the snap, then tap on “Delete”

How to delete a sent snap on Snapchat

Tap on “Delete” to delete the snap.

The next step is to tap and hold the snap.

After tapping and holding the snap, a “Delete” option will pop up on your screen.

The delete option allows you to delete the sent snap.

Tap on “Delete” to delete the snap.

If you’ve tapped on the “Delete” option for the first time, there will be a pop-up message.

You’ll need to tap on “Okay” to close the pop-up message.

The pop-up message informs you that when you delete a message, Snapchat will attempt to remove it from their servers.

However, this might not always work if the user has a poor internet connection or an older version of Snapchat.

That being said, deleting a snap will work almost all of the time.

Hence, if you deleted a “Delivered” snap, the snap will be permanently deleted, and the user will not be able to open it anymore.

However, if you deleted an “Opened” snap, the user has already seen the snap.

In the worst-case scenario, the user might have already opened the snap and took a screenshot of it.

If that’s the case, then there’s no point in deleting the snap anymore.

Proceed to the final step to see what happens after you’ve deleted a snap.

3. A message will show that the snap is deleted

How to unsend a snap

If the snap is successfully deleted, the other person will see an “x deleted a snap” message.

After you’ve deleted a snap, Snapchat will display a message to the other person informing them that you’ve deleted it.

The message will read “x deleted a snap”, with x being the person’s name.

For example, if the person’s name is “lhw”, the message, “lhw deleted a snap” will be shown in the chat.

This means that the snap has been successfully deleted from both sides.

However, that does not guarantee that the person hasn’t seen your snap.

If the snap says “Opened”, the person has already seen your snap, so there’s no point in deleting it.

Similarly, if there’s an “x took a screenshot” message, that means that the person has taken a screenshot of the snap, so deleting it is pointless.

That being said, you can still delete the snap to get rid of the “opened” arrow.

You’ve successfully learned how to delete a sent snap on Snapchat!

Can you unsend a snap?

Yes, you can unsend a snap on Snapchat.

In 2018, Snapchat introduced a feature where you can delete snaps and messages.

This feature allows you to unsend snaps and messages that you didn’t mean to send.

You can unsend a snap by holding it down and deleting it.

However, you need to make sure to delete the snap before the person opens it.

If the person already opened the snap, it’s too late to delete it.

What to do if you sent a Snapchat to the wrong person?

If you sent a Snapchat to the wrong person, you can delete it.

Simply tap and hold the snap, then tap on “Delete”.

This will remove the snap from both sides, and the person that you sent it to will not be able to open it anymore.

However, you need to make sure that you delete the snap immediately after you’ve sent it.

This is to avoid the person from having a chance to open the snap.

Conclusion

Sending snaps are a great way to socialize with people on Snapchat.

However, if you sent a snap to the wrong person, it can get pretty awkward.

Fortunately, Snapchat released an update back in 2018 where you can delete your snaps and messages.

This mitigates your snaps from getting seen by people that you don’t want to.

Further Reading

How to Send All Streaks at Once on Snapchat

Does Snapchat Notify When You Screen Record?

How to Switch Accounts on Snapchat: 5 Steps (With Pictures)

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.