Home » Social Media » TikTok » How to Delete a TikTok Video

How to Delete a TikTok Video

As a TikTok creator, you might have to delete one of your TikTok videos at some point.

If you’ve been consistently uploading videos on TikTok, your older ones might not be relevant to your niche anymore.

Other times, your old videos might be so bad in quality that you want to delete them.

If that’s the case, you can either choose to hide your TikTok video by changing its privacy settings or delete it.

If you’re certain that you no longer want the video to be on TikTok, you can delete it from your profile.

However, if you want to display the video on your profile in the future, changing its privacy settings is a better idea.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to delete a TikTok video in 3 easy steps.

How to delete a TikTok video

To delete a TikTok video, navigate to the video that you want to delete and tap on the three dots.

Then, scroll to the extreme right of the navigation menu and tap on “Delete” to delete the video.

After you’ve deleted the video, it will no longer be displayed on your profile.

Your video won’t show up on other users’ “For You” page anymore as well.

Keep in mind that this process is irreversible, and you won’t be able to recover the video that you’ve deleted.

Hence, before deleting a video on TikTok, make sure that you’ve saved it in your camera roll.

Otherwise, if you happen to regret your decision, you won’t be able to recover it back.

Here’s how to delete a TikTok video:

  1. Navigate to the video
  2. Tap on the three dots
  3. Tap on “Delete”

1. Navigate to the video

TikTok feed

Open TikTok > go to your profile > navigate to the video that you want to delete.

The first step to delete a TikTok video is to navigate to the video that you want to delete.

To begin with, open TikTok on your mobile device.

Next, tap on the profile icon on the bottom navigation bar to visit your profile.

On your profile, you’ll see all the videos that you’ve posted on TikTok.

Navigate to the video that you want to delete.

Lastly, tap on the video to expand and view it.

You’ve successfully navigated to the video that you want to delete on TikTok.

In the next steps, you’ll learn where the “Delete” button is located.

2. Tap on the three dots

Delete TikTok post

On the right sidebar of the video, tap on the three dots.

After you’ve navigated to the video that you want to delete, it’ll start playing.

On the right of the video, you’ll see a sidebar with a few icons—your profile picture, a heart icon, a chat icon, and three dots under it.

Tapping on your profile picture will bring you to your TikTok profile.

Tapping on the heart icon will like the video while tapping on the comment icon will open the comment section of the video.

The icon that you want to be tapping is the three dots.

Tap on the three dots icon below the comment icon.

The three dots icon is for editing the video, sharing it, and so on.

In the final step, you’ll learn how to delete the video from your profile.

3. Tap on “Delete”

How to delete a TikTok video

On the navigation menu, scroll to the extreme right > tap on “Delete”.

The last step is to delete the video from your profile.

After you’ve tapped on the three dots on the video, a navigation menu will be opened.

The navigation menu contains several options—you can send the video to someone on TikTok, share it with someone outside of TikTok, and edit the video.

On the final section of the navigation menu, you’ll see the analytics option (if you have a business account), the save video option, the duet option, etc.

Scroll to the extreme right of the section, and at the end of it, you’ll see the “Delete” option.

Tap on “Delete” to delete the TikTok video from your profile.

Then, go back to your profile, and the video will be gone.

Congrats, you’ve successfully deleted a TikTok video.

How to delete someone else’s TikTok video

To delete someone else’s TikTok video, you can either file a report for copyright infringement or report the video on TikTok.

However, if the video does not infringe your copyright, or does not violate TikTok’s community guidelines, it will not be deleted unless the user deleted it themselves.

If you believe that a TikTok video infringes your copyright, you can file a report to TikTok and have them take it down.

On the other hand, if a video violates one or more of TikTok’s community guidelines, you can report it on TikTok.

To report a video on TikTok, navigate to the video, tap on the share icon, then tap on “Report”.

Is it bad to delete TikTok videos?

Deleting your TikTok videos does not negatively affect your organic reach.

However, if your video gets taken down because it violated TikTok’s community guidelines, your views and engagement will drop.

Although deleting your TikTok videos is generally safe, a better alternative is to private them instead.

Keep in mind that deleting a TikTok video will decrease your total number of likes (if the video has likes).

So, if the video has a ton of likes, you might want to consider to private it instead of deleting it.

Conclusion

There are a couple of advantages to deleting your TikTok videos.

Firstly, if your old videos aren’t relevant to your niche anymore, you can delete them to keep your videos consistent.

Secondly, if you have a ton of under-performing videos, deleting them will ensure that your profile only contains quality videos.

That way, people are more inclined to follow you and watch your videos.

Either way, deleting your TikTok videos is a great way to organize your feed.

Further Reading

How to Hide Videos on TikTok

How to Link Your Discord to TikTok

What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.