Home » Social Media » TikTok » How to Hide Your Following List on TikTok

How to Hide Your Following List on TikTok

Your following list on TikTok displays a list of users that you’re following.

If your profile is set to public, everyone will be able to see your following list.

You can also see someone else’s following list by visiting their profile and tapping on “Following”.

However, their following list and profile need to be set to public.

Otherwise, you’ll get an error when you tap on the user’s following list.

Here’s the error message that you’ll see, “Following list is hidden due to this user’s privacy settings”.

If a user’s profile is set to private, you won’t be able to see their following list as well.

In this guide, you’ll learn how to hide your following list and followers on TikTok.

How to hide your following list on TikTok

To hide your following list on TikTok, you need to navigate to the menu and tap on “Privacy”.

Then, tap on “Following list” and select “Only me”.

After you’ve selected “Only me”, your following list will be hidden from others.

If a user taps on your following list, they’ll get an error message.

Here’s the error message that they’ll get, “Following list is hidden due to this user’s privacy settings”.

TikTok allows users to hide their following list from their privacy settings.

The “Following list” setting is located under the “Safety” header.

By default, your following list is set to “Everyone”.

In other words, everyone will be able to see your following list by default.

However, you can modify the “Following list” setting to make it private.

Here’s how to hide your following list on TikTok:

  1. Navigate to the menu
  2. Tap on “Privacy”
  3. Tap on “Following list”
  4. Select “Only me”

1. Navigate to the menu

TikTok menu icon

The first step is to navigate to the menu.

Firstly, open TikTok and log in to your account if you haven’t already.

Once you’re on TikTok, you need to go to your profile.

On the bottom navigation bar, you’ll see a “Me” icon.

Tap on the “Me” icon to go to your profile.

Once you’re on your TikTok profile, you need to navigate to the menu.

Tap on the menu icon on the top navigation bar to open the menu.

2. Tap on “Privacy”

TikTok account privacy

After you’ve tapped on the menu icon, you’ll land on the “Settings and privacy” page.

On this page, you’ll see an “Account” header.

Under the “Account” header, you’ll see multiple options.

This includes “Privacy”, “Security and login”, “Creator tools”, and more.

To change who can see your following list, you need to navigate to your privacy settings.

To open your privacy settings, you need to tap on “Privacy”.

3. Tap on “Following list”

TikTok following list setting

After you’ve tapped on “Privacy”, you’ll land on the “Privacy” page.

On the “Privacy” page, you’ll see multiple settings that you can change.

This includes “Private account”, “Suggest your account to others”, “Sync contacts and Facebook friends”, and more.

Scroll down the page until you reach the “Safety” header.

Under the “Safety” header, you’ll see multiple safety settings that you can modify.

This includes “Downloads”, “Comments”, “Following list”, and more.

Since you’re looking to hide your following list, tap on “Following list”.

4. Select “Only me”

How to hide your following list on TikTok

After you’ve tapped on “Following list”, you’ll land on the “Following list” setting.

Under the “Who can see your following list?” header, you’ll see a couple of options.

This includes “Everyone” and “Only me”.

If the “Everyone” option is selected, everyone will be able to see your following list if your profile is set to public.

On the other hand, if the “Only me” option is selected, your following list will be hidden from others.

By default, your following list on TikTok will be set to “Everyone”.

Since you’re looking to hide your following list, you need to select the “Only me” option.

Select the “Only me” option to hide your following list on TikTok.

Lastly, tap on the back icon four times to go back to your profile.

After you’ve set your following list to “Only me”, it’ll be hidden from others!

Can people see who I follow on TikTok?

Yes, people can see who you follow on TikTok if your profile is set to public.

However, if your profile is set to private, people won’t be able to see who you follow.

This is because your following list will be automatically hidden from others.

In addition, if you’ve set the “Who can see your following list?” setting to “Only me”, people won’t be able to see who you follow.

Conclusion

If you constantly face stalkers, it’s a good idea to hide your following list.

That way, others won’t be able to know who you’re following on TikTok.

Your following list is set to public by default, so everyone will be able to see it.

Hence, you need to change the “Who can see your following list?” setting to “Only me” to hide it.

Alternatively, you can set your TikTok profile to private.

If your TikTok profile is set to private, others won’t be able to see your following list as well.

When they tap on your following list, nothing will happen.

You can private your TikTok profile by navigating to the menu > privacy > private account.

If your TikTok profile is already set to private, then you don’t have to change the “Who can see your following list?” setting to “Only me”.

This is because your following list will be automatically hidden from other users.

Further reading

How to Fix TikTok Messages Not Working

How to Get Unbanned on TikTok

3 Ways to Contact TikTok

Tags

About the author

Lim How Wei

Lim How Wei is the founder of followchain.org, with over 7+ years of experience in Social Media and 3+ years of experience in investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies. He has researched, tested, and written hundreds of articles ranging from social media platforms to messaging apps.